York diamond 90 gas furnace: code 11

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-22-19, 01:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
York diamond 90 gas furnace: code 11

I have a York diamond 90 gas furnace that wont ignite. I have a code 11 which is broken rollout wire. I cant bypass since both wires go into the control board{plug-in}. would this cause yhe ignitor not to heat up and/or is the control board defective. I put a new tested ignitor in
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-22-19, 06:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,159
Received 374 Votes on 351 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Yes..... the rollout sensor wires go to the multi pin connection on the control board.
No.... you cannot bypass that sensor due to safety concerns.

You should be able to check the switches for a problem.
I'd need the full model number of the furnace to comment further.
 
  #3  
Old 10-22-19, 08:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hi pete! The model number for furnace is P3URB10N05501D. I changed the flame roll-out switch too.
 
  #4  
Old 10-23-19, 07:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
just wanted to say that the inducer and blower motor come on but that's it. I don't know if that code would prevent the ignitor from heating up.
 
  #5  
Old 10-23-19, 07:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,159
Received 374 Votes on 351 Posts
The main blower is most likely a timed function.

If ANY safety switch is open...... the draft inducer will not start. Since the draft inducer is running.... that points to the pressure switch not proving on vacuum.
 
  #6  
Old 10-23-19, 07:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
would that give me the code for a broken rollout wire?
 
  #7  
Old 10-23-19, 07:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I"ll have to look and see how to test the pressure switch
 
  #8  
Old 10-23-19, 07:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,159
Received 374 Votes on 351 Posts
Are you still getting the fault code 11 ?

The rollout switch wires should be brown to pin 11 and black to pin 5. Is that correct ?
Measuring from pin 5 to pin 11 should be 0v.
Measuring from pin 5 or pin 11 to ground should be 24vAC.


Manual
 
  #9  
Old 10-25-19, 01:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes but I really haven't done anything yet. I checked the new ignitor and im only reading 7 ohms. im not familiar with a multimeter, so I don't know if im doing it right. tried the pins but it only moves the needle on ohms. guess ill have to call someone. I still have the same code 11. I don't know how to check pressure switch either.
 
  #10  
Old 10-25-19, 05:32 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,425
Received 36 Votes on 33 Posts
Post a picture of the broken wire.
A broken wire still opens the circuit. And will cause the unit to shut down.
What happened to the old ignitor to require changing it?
 
  #11  
Old 10-25-19, 05:45 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,985
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
You can bypass it with the gas off to see if the inducer comes on and igniter glows.

normally a open rollout indicates the heat exchanger is bad - you have to verify it's actually open.
 
  #12  
Old 10-25-19, 07:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
good evening gentlemen! the inducer and blower both come on. the unit will run for a few minutes and shut down because the ignitor will not heat up. The code I get is code 11, broken rollout switch wire, but the wires themselves look fine. I replaced the ignitor because that's usually the most common problem, at least I thought it was. I checked both fuses and have continuity but i'm not familiar with a meter so I have no idea where to set it to check ignitor, pressure switch,and rollout pins. I set the meter to x10 on ohms and only got a reading of 7 on the ignitor.. Being brand new, I must be doing it wrong.
 
  #13  
Old 10-25-19, 07:42 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,985
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
sounds like a bad connection.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: