New furnace is making a clicking/ticking noise

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-19-19, 05:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Post New furnace is making a clicking/ticking noise

I recently had a new Goodman furnace installed in my apartment and it started making an intermittent clicking/ticking noise. It didn't make this noise when I ran the heat in April and didn't make it the whole summer when I ran the AC. The intermittent noise is short and varies in how loud it is. It even makes the ticking sound when the furnace is off. Any information would be great as I have had issues with the maintenance people and am trying to get more information before I contact them. Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-19-19, 05:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,486
Received 39 Votes on 36 Posts
Where is it coming from within the furnace? The burner compartment? The blower?
 
  #3  
Old 11-19-19, 05:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
Is that the original thermostat or did you change it ?
 
  #4  
Old 11-20-19, 10:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Its hard to tell where its coming from.
 
  #5  
Old 11-20-19, 10:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I upgraded to a digital thermostat several years ago (Braeburn brand)
 
  #6  
Old 11-20-19, 12:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Would pictures help at all?
 
  #7  
Old 11-20-19, 12:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,486
Received 39 Votes on 36 Posts
General pictures of the furnace, no, they will not really help.
Does this noise happen when just the blower is running? Or only when the heat is running?
 
  #8  
Old 11-20-19, 08:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Both I think, It even happens when the furnace is off. I know very little about any of this but somebody else on another forum gave a response that I thought made sense, heres his response.

"Could it be expanding and contracting sheet metal when the furnace cycles? Wouldn't necessarily happen when the furnace is running. Could be after the furnace is off, but still warm/cooling down?"
 
  #9  
Old 11-21-19, 07:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 910
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
"I recently had a new Goodman furnace installed in my apartment"

Call the company that did the install, they should explain it or come out to troubleshoot it as it should still be under warranty.
 
  #10  
Old 11-22-19, 09:39 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
You had a new furnace installed and they re-used your existing thermostat ?
 
  #11  
Old 11-22-19, 02:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I live in an apartment as stated so its not that easy to just call the company that installed the furnace. I could try and find out which company that is i suppose. Yes Ive had the same thermostat for several years. I realize this forum is more for homeowners, but Ive had many issues with the maintenance so I'm just trying to get more information. The maintenance just left and said there's nothing they can do about it, I will be recontacting the property manager and go from there.
 
  #12  
Old 11-22-19, 03:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,582
Received 416 Votes on 389 Posts
This forum is for homeowners as well apartment or condo dwellers as well as pros.

And as a pro...... I would go back and fix the problem no charge.
Unfortunately the majority of the "hired help" or maintenance guys are clueless about most HVAC issues.
You don't have a common problem so it's hard for us to help you without knowing exactly where the problem is located. Too many things could be ticking/clicking.
 
  #13  
Old 11-22-19, 08:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Post

Thanks for that response Pete, I appreciate it! Yea I'm realizing now that this is a somewhat an unusual issue I'm having. So I just listened very carefully and it sounds like its coming from more the ventilation than the furnace itself. The one part already looks somewhat corroded and I just saw that the insulation on a pipe is coming off as well. Here are some pics. Is it recommend to get a new thermostat when a new furnace is installed? I didn't mention that I also had a new Goodman AC installed around the same time I had the furnace installed.
 
Attached Images      
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: