Lennox Furnace Error Code E271


  #1  
Old 01-30-20, 06:43 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Lennox Furnace Error Code E271

I just installed an old Lennox natural gas Furnace that was in a house into a garage, Model EL296UH110XV48C-04 S/N 5913J21851. The furnace worked in the house. On initial startup I am receiving an E271 error code which indicates a problem with the blower. I assume this is the blower for burner air. This unit has PVC piping for intake and exhaust air. I have checked the blower, there is nothing hampering it's movement. The ducts are clear and new. There is 110 voltage and 24 volt voltage to the main board and the grounds are correct. On startup the blower will jump and then the controller shuts it off so it doesn't continue running. I put a volt meter on the leads to the blower and I receive an instantaneous voltage jump.

I would like to be able to diagnose this issue without bringing in a furnace expert, if possible. I appreciate any help and assistance you can provide.
 
  #2  
Old 01-30-20, 10:06 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,765
Received 4,119 Upvotes on 3,699 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I can tell you that is not a DIY install furnace. This is a complicated furnace with a communicating system. I cannot find any list of trouble codes for it. They may be on the blower door.

I did find a manual for it...... Lennox EL 296 manual (pdf)
 
  #3  
Old 02-03-20, 03:03 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I was able to resolve the issue myself. Reviewing the installation manual I found what the start-up sequence was. There is a test of the blower motor that happens 90 seconds before ignition which is what was failing. I found the wiring which supplies voltage and ground to the motor, I disconnected each and cleaned them up as you would an electrical connection in an automobile. One of the wires powers a transformer. I also checked voltage going to the transformer and out of the transformer both of which were good. Upon restart, the furnace fired up and responded to the thermostat. One other thing worth mentioning is that there is a reset button on the control board. Holding it for 5 seconds causes a reset also.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: