Furnace cycles

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-01-20, 07:29 AM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 366
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Furnace cycles

My dad has an Amana furnace. Not sure of the exact model but pic of the manual is included. As well as pics of the tstat. During my regular visits, Iíve notice that his furnace cycles a lot. It feels like it runs too often. Havenít gotten around to timing it though. Spent the weekend there and I was continually amazed at often it was running, itís just below freezing in Ontario this weekend.

Heís had the unit looked at twice recently. Once to address the cycling and again when some relay failed. Both times, the tech said the unit was operating normally.

I fell like the stat is too sensitize and is calling for heat at the slightest drop in temp. I canít believe weíre losing heat that fast. Home is single family detached built in 1980. New windows and doors. Original insulation in attic.

 
Attached Images     
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-01-20, 09:41 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,212
Received 851 Votes on 797 Posts
The furnace cycling is a direct result of the thermostat control.
In other words.... it would appear the system is ok especially if it meets set temperature.

In order to keep the area more comfortable..... thermostats will cycle more often. If you don't mind wider temperature swings..... you may be able to change the cycle rate on that thermostat.

It also sounds like you have heat loss issues. The attic insulation is typically responsible for that.

Post the model number of the thermostat.
 
  #3  
Old 03-01-20, 09:56 AM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 366
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Itís a Honeywell th8320up1037
 
  #4  
Old 03-01-20, 10:15 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,212
Received 851 Votes on 797 Posts
If you have the manual..... go into pro settings. Go to set up step 240.
This is the cycles per hour for single stage heating system.
The factory default is shown as 5 cph. You can try changing that to 3 cph.
It can be any number from 1-12 cph.

TH8320U manual (pdf)
 
  #5  
Old 03-01-20, 11:18 AM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 366
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Awesome. Thank you. Will give it a try.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: