York Diamond 80 no flame

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-08-20, 10:25 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
York Diamond 80 no flame

My furnace seems to be out. It happened about a month ago and I cleaned the flame sensor and it worked great until now. Last night I changed the filter, cleaned the flame sensor again and still no flame. Never even smell gas, but the ignitor glows orange. I may just need to replace the sensor. The flame sensor doesn't look dirty or anything. Anyone have any other ideas before I do that? Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-08-20, 11:03 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,748
Received 93 Votes on 87 Posts
Do not start replacing parts. Diagnose first.
If the ignitor is energized it’s not the flame sensor.
What’s the model number? What error code does it fail on? Does ignition occur then shut off?
 
  #3  
Old 03-08-20, 01:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,075
Received 836 Votes on 783 Posts
The flame sensor is just a piece of stainless steel rod. It never needs replacing.
Just clean it with a green Scotchbrite pad.

Never even smell gas, but the ignitor glows orange.
At this point... ALL sensors are ok.
You have to get a flame before the flame sensor is even used.

At this point you need to verify 24vAC to the gas valve just before the igniter shuts down. You may have a gas valve problem.... or gas valve wiring problem..... or a defective gas valve relay on the control board.
 
  #4  
Old 03-08-20, 01:24 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you all. I am about to test the gas valve. I'll update with what I find.
 
  #5  
Old 03-08-20, 03:42 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So it has 24v to the gas valve but still no gas flowing. Thoughts?
​​
 
  #6  
Old 03-08-20, 03:49 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,748
Received 93 Votes on 87 Posts
Next step would be to check input and manifold gas pressure.
Are any other gas appliances working?
 
  #7  
Old 03-08-20, 03:53 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes the water heater is gas and it works great still. Natural gas
 
  #8  
Old 03-08-20, 03:59 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,748
Received 93 Votes on 87 Posts
May be the gas valve, you’d have to check gas pressure to be certain.
If you replace the valve you’ll have to put a manometer on anyway to set the new gas valve.
So either way you’ll have to have a way to test for gas pressure.
 
  #9  
Old 03-08-20, 04:13 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well bummer, I don't have a manometer so I may go ahead and call in the pros and count this one a loss for me. I appreciate all of the tips. At least I have it narrowed down for now.
 
  #10  
Old 03-08-20, 04:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,075
Received 836 Votes on 783 Posts
How did you check for 24v at the gas valve ?

The gas valve needed to be connected which means you should have heard it open.
Usually once voltage is confirmed.... continuity is checked to verify gas valve is truly bad.
There will only be 24v to valve for 7 seconds...... the time between it opening and the system shutting down on default.
 
  #11  
Old 03-08-20, 07:45 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It held the 24V for 5 seconds. I could hear it clicking to open then clicking again as the voltage began to drop.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: