new heil furnace loud burners


  #1  
Old 12-05-20, 05:41 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 305
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
new heil furnace loud burners

my son had a new heil 96% efficiency 2 stage furnace installed last month. I was up there last week and he was telling me it was louder than the old furnace. I listened to it and had him turn up the thermostat and the furnace itself was quiet running on the inducer fan, but the burners lit up and seemed to be unreasonably loud. is this something normal with the new furnaces? it was professionally installed, so I can't imagine they didn't check the operation of the unit before they left. sorry I don't know the model no. , I know some of you folks on here are installers and was wondering if this noise is normal or something to worry about?
 
  #2  
Old 12-05-20, 08:46 AM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,829
Received 57 Upvotes on 50 Posts
Was the gas pressure checked after startup? It must be.
Could be too high causing excess noise -> being over-fired can damage the furnace and produce high co as well.


The burners should be almost inaudible with the combustion air pipe connected.
Without, you should hear them clearly but shouldn't be excessive. Combustion air from outside has other benefits.
 

Last edited by user 10; 12-05-20 at 09:27 AM.
  #3  
Old 12-05-20, 10:01 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 305
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
You think so I have to call installer and have them come out and check it over warranty is good for a year
 
  #4  
Old 12-05-20, 10:22 AM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,829
Received 57 Upvotes on 50 Posts
Yes, call the installer and make sure he checks manifold gas pressure.

Normally 1.5 to 1.8" on low (depends on unit) and 3.5" on high at normal altitute and gas energy content. The manufacturer has very specific instructions for setting it up.

With the 2-stage unit on a regular t-stat, after 16 minutes max you should hear burner and fan noise increase as it switches to high. For 2-stage t-stat, should hit high shortly after raising the setting.

Most of the time, it should only run on low.

If there's nothing wrong, ask for combustion air from outside if it's taking from inside now.
 
  #5  
Old 12-06-20, 04:43 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 305
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
he had a new 2 stage thermostat installed when he got the furnace, so that might be why the furnace went to the high side on startup? I will tell him to call the installer and check the pressures just to be sure. already getting combustion air from outside. thanks
 
  #6  
Old 12-06-20, 10:21 AM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,829
Received 57 Upvotes on 50 Posts
it may not be wired to control the stages.
it shouldn't be terribly loud on high especially with air from outside.



 
  #7  
Old 12-06-20, 01:32 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 305
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
thanks for all the help
 
  #8  
Old 12-06-20, 03:26 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,829
Received 57 Upvotes on 50 Posts
One thing i'm curious about is if the old furnace was also high efficiency, direct vent.
The old ones usually have a burner box inside the cabinet which reduces burner noise.

All makes except for lennox have stopped using burner boxes - the cabinet makes the seal. The sheet metal of newer ones is also thinner than before.

There's a high probability there's nothing wrong with this furnace, but it's good to check.
 
  #9  
Old 12-07-20, 10:23 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 305
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
I will check as I was thinking about having the same guy install a couple for me next spring. I did 3 estimates on these units heil 60k btu 96 percent furnace and 2 ton central air at 16 seer for 3850 after rebates for the complete installation. I thought it was a good price and was definitely the lowest of the 3 bids. I have older goodmans now that are 20 years old. I wonder if the new ones will last that long. thanks for all the info and help.
 
  #10  
Old 12-07-20, 01:48 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,829
Received 57 Upvotes on 50 Posts
doubt goodman ever used burner boxes - cheap make.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: