Carrier Furnace wonít light and no error code


  #1  
Old 04-15-21, 11:40 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Carrier Furnace wonít light and no error code

Hi all. First time poster here. I have a Carrier WeatherMaker 9200. When I call for heat, it cycles through the fan, heats up igniter, then clicks not lighting and igniter cools and fan stops. No error code and it will start over again and continuously try repeatedly with no error code. Everything I read suggested that there was a problem with the control board. Replaced the control board and it does the same thing. Iím at a loss for what to try next. Any advice?
 
  #2  
Old 04-16-21, 08:58 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,102
Received 1,509 Votes on 1,396 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

That is the group number you've posted.
Remove burner access door and get model number off the ID tag on the side wall near the burner.

After the igniter warms up....then you hear a click just before everything stops.... that should be the gas valve opening. Put a meter on the two wires to the valve and see if you get 24vAC just before everything stops.
 
  #3  
Old 04-16-21, 12:49 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the additional steps to try.

First, the model number I found is 58MXA080-F-15112

Second, when a I place the meter on the leads to the valve, it settles at 0.49 volts base level before the cycle. Then when the igniter heats up, the voltage spikes momentarily at about 24 volts and immediately returns to 0.49 as everything shuts down and the whole cycle starts over.
 
  #4  
Old 04-17-21, 08:26 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,102
Received 1,509 Votes on 1,396 Posts
It should stay at 24v for 5-7 seconds. Is that correct ?
Try removing the wires from the valve and then reconnect them.
 
  #5  
Old 04-17-21, 08:46 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,135
Received 115 Votes on 109 Posts
Just to note, that furnace is on the list of those affected by the class action lawsuit for faulty heat exchangers.
When was the last time your furnace was inspected?

http://www.hipspro.com/pubs/Furnace-...led_notice.pdf
 
  #6  
Old 04-17-21, 10:16 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It has been a few years since inspection thanks for the heads up.

It only momentarily hits 24 volts. Probably less than a second. Just long enough to flash the reading on the meter. Iíll try disconnecting and reconnecting, but assuming it doesnít change, then what?
 
  #7  
Old 04-17-21, 10:23 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,102
Received 1,509 Votes on 1,396 Posts
If it only flashes power for a second.... it's a dirty/loose connection or a problem control board.
 
  #8  
Old 04-17-21, 11:09 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thx PJMax. Iíll check the connections. I replaced the control board thinking it HAD to be that but still the same. If itís not the connection, is there anything left short of the repairman? Given what Roughneck77 said about the class action and me not having an inspection in a while, maybe I should just get a pro in to give it a good look. Thanks again.

Bob
 
  #9  
Old 04-17-21, 03:59 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,135
Received 115 Votes on 109 Posts
Wouldn’t be a bad idea.
Where did you source the replacement part? Was it new or used?
 
  #10  
Old 04-17-21, 04:43 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New on Amazon. Exact same board. But I must admit Iím suspicious now. I did return it since it didnít fix the problem. What do ya think about trying again? It seems really unlikely that the replacement board would have had the same problem as the old board since the problem was unchanged. It was about $125. Or should I just cut my losses and call the guy? My worry is then itíll be $500 or more. Thanks for the help. This is an awesome resource.

Bob
 
  #11  
Old 04-17-21, 05:29 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,135
Received 115 Votes on 109 Posts
I’d diagnose it first before ordering parts you may not need. Confirm your meter is working as well.
 
  #12  
Old 04-18-21, 05:35 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The meter has been confirmed working properly. Any advice on what to check next? Thanks.
 
  #13  
Old 04-18-21, 07:56 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,135
Received 115 Votes on 109 Posts
Start tracing power from the valve. Make sure the readings are the same on the board outputs. I’d also check the pressure switch and make sure it’s not opening mid-ignition cycle.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: