new goodman furnace


  #1  
Old 05-18-21, 07:38 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 263
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
new goodman furnace

I was looking at a new goodman furnace model gmes960603bn and was a little concerned about the ecm blower motor this one has the part no. 0131f00144s program x-13 motor. any one of the techs here have experience with these motors? do they have a high failure rate in your experience? would you rate them better or worse than other brands?
 
  #2  
Old 05-18-21, 07:58 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,176
Received 123 Votes on 117 Posts
They donít last very long if the static pressure isnít correct, for example when the unit is connected to undersized duct. Which is a common issue anymore.
As far as the brand question are you referring to Goodman?
 
  #3  
Old 05-18-21, 08:36 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 263
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I was referring to goodman furnaces. buy or stay away?
 
  #4  
Old 05-18-21, 08:47 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,176
Received 123 Votes on 117 Posts
Brand shopping is pretty pointless when it comes to HVAC. The installer will make or break how the system runs.
Most brands are interrelated anyway. And the ones that aren’t usually us the same internal parts.
Goodman has a poor rep because they sell to anyone. Then when the system gets put in wrong, and doesn’t run right, the brand takes the blame. Even though they had no influence.
Only thing I don’t care for with Goldman is heat staging. They do it within the board.
 
  #5  
Old 05-18-21, 09:10 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 263
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I have a 92 percent at 80k btu and am going to 60k at 96percent. house is 1200 square feet with good insulation and windows. the current furnace is 22 years old and didn't seem to have any problem with duct sizing or heat rise.. I assume that a lot of the new furnace blowers fail because of the new denser filters that put a load on the blower. what are your thoughts on that?
 
  #6  
Old 05-18-21, 09:19 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,176
Received 123 Votes on 117 Posts
Equipment isn’t sized via square footage alone. Could possibly go with a smaller unit. Do a manual J.
What is your current heat rise? At what firing rate?
Thick filters aren’t anything new. But your unit isn’t an air cleaner. The filter is there to protect the unit. Not clean the air in the house. The packaging claims of filtering germs, bacteria, allergens, and such are marketing BS.
 
  #7  
Old 05-18-21, 10:09 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,579
Received 1,599 Votes on 1,473 Posts
Unfortunately..... in order to squeeze every drop of efficiency out of the furnace you will be getting the ECM motor. Goodman offers a 10 year warranty on all parts so be sure your furnace gets registered to take advantage of that.
 
  #8  
Old 05-20-21, 07:58 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SE Iowa
Posts: 120
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by roughneck77
Only thing I donít care for with Goldman is heat staging. They do it within the board.
Does it depend on the model? My second floor Amana (Goodman) has the 2nd stage heating controlled by the thermostat. My 1st floor Amana has 2nd stage controlled by the board, but that works in my favor as that unit is a dual fuel. There aren't enough wires in the t-stat cable to run the heat pump and all the stages.
 
  #9  
Old 05-20-21, 09:04 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 263
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
would mine be controlled in the board as it is single stage with ecm blower>
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: