Blower motor still won't start after replacing motor and capacitor


  #1  
Old 04-28-22, 10:01 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 4
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Blower motor still won't start after replacing motor and capacitor

Blower motor still won't start after replacing motor and capacitorI have an WeatherKing furnance (Rheem mfr co. RCBA-3765GH21XI;2004) gas furnace. The blower fan wasn't starting and making humming noise and smell of burning so I replaced it with brand new motor and brand new capacitor. Exact same brand/model/etc (5KCP39RGS935S - OEM Upgraded Replacement for GE Blower Motor 51-23017-42 115v)

. The thermostat settings are checked and on Heat (higher temp with Fan Auto mode). Even tried resetting via turning ON/OFF furnace switch in the circuit breaker.

Upon manually turning the switch ON, all the initial starting steps work up until its time for the blower to come on. Once new motor was installed it does not make humming noise anymore but it does not even start the fan. The motor fan blower works fine (meaning the shaft is moving OK in circular motion) if try testing outside (not installed in the housing). This is the 2nd motor I have changed thinking 1st one was faulty.

Anything I could be missing? Any help or guidance is appreciated.

Blower Motor Circuit 1

Flame and Draft Motor Inducer Chamber

Blower Motor circuit2

Blower Motor Housing

Blower Motor fan working outside the housing

Specifications
 
  #2  
Old 04-28-22, 01:56 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,960
Received 158 Upvotes on 144 Posts
Hi, can you post a readable wiring Dia. for that furnace?
Geo 🇺🇸
 
  #3  
Old 04-28-22, 02:42 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 4
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
  #4  
Old 04-28-22, 04:07 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,960
Received 158 Upvotes on 144 Posts
Can’t tell much from that pic, how is the fan running on the floor? What are the 2 blower circuits ? One thing you might try is reseating all of those plug connectors make sure the terminals are clean and tight.
Geo 🇺🇸
 
  #5  
Old 04-28-22, 04:11 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 4
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I believe one is the draft motor inducer and other one is blower motor fan.
 
  #6  
Old 04-28-22, 07:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,065
Received 3,421 Upvotes on 3,067 Posts
That looks like an ICM 288 1/3 control board.
If you look where the blower wires connect it should be labeled fairly clearly.
I know your board has a blower COOL and a blower HEAT connection.
It may or may not have a blower FAN connection. The newer boards have it.
I can't see your diagram clearly.

So... looking at the picture below. The motor neutral needs to be on any one of the neutral terminals.
The motor high speed.... cooling.... needs to be on the blue cool terminal.
The motor medium speed..... heating.... needs to be on the red heat terminal.
You can use any remaining motor speed wire on the yellow terminal if available.

You need to use the blower speeds that match your system.
Typically A/C uses the highest speed and heat uses medium or medium/high.

 
mrdiy2022 voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 04-29-22, 04:55 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,960
Received 158 Upvotes on 144 Posts
Hi, itís hard to tell from the pics, but is there a fuse on that board, if so have you checked it?
Geo 🇺🇸
 
mrdiy2022 voted this post useful.
  #8  
Old 04-29-22, 07:00 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 4
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No fuse or reset button on the unit.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: