Trane XE 70 no longer heating


  #1  
Old 12-05-22, 05:20 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 7
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Trane XE 70 no longer heating

The heat from my Trane XE 70 stopped working. When I turn the thermostat on, I get the initial click from the relay but no flame and no click click click click........ So I dug up the schematic (haven't looked at a schematic since the Air Force, 30+ years ago) and I think I found a voltage issue at the pilot relite (White Rodgers 5059-41), which is getting 24V at T1 but nothing at T2. It seems that the 24V that should be going to T2 should be coming from the gas valve but I'm not sure. Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks in advance!







 
  #2  
Old 12-06-22, 07:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Put the high voltage lead back on the module. Measuring there will destroy a meter.
You need to have 24vac on the two power tabs when the thermostat calls for heat.
It looks like when the module gets power.... so does the gas valve.

You should post a picture of the wiring diagram or the full model number of the furnace which is found on the ID plate on the side wall near the burner.
 
theegoldenone voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 12-06-22, 08:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
Blue is common. There should be no problems with the common line.
White is the W/switched 24vac power.
Clip one meter lead on the common/blue line. 24vac is applied to W(1) from the thermostat.
Check for 24v on both sides of safety stat 3.
If ok.... check for 24v on both sides of fusible link 4.
If ok.... check for 24v on both sides of fan/limit switch 5.
If ok.... check for 24v on T1 of igniter module.
If there it should also be on the gas valve 7.
 
theegoldenone voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 12-06-22, 09:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
You can connect 24vac to T1 and T2 to test.
 
theegoldenone voted this post useful.
  #5  
Old 12-05-22, 07:38 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 7
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
After further digging (and realizing a forgot A LOT about A/C circuitry), it appears that the voltages on the pilot relite are supposed to be 0V (common/neutral) at T2 and 24V at T1. So does that mean the pilot relite module is bad? If I pull off the orange wire off the pilot relite module and try to read the voltage off the lead in the middle of the blue plastic piece, should I get a high voltage reading if it's good?
 
  #6  
Old 12-06-22, 08:04 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 7
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts

Thanks for the response, Pete!
 
  #7  
Old 12-06-22, 08:59 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 7
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I appreciate you taking the time to draw that up for me. Thank you very much! I have 24v at all the points you said to check. No spark. Coincidentally, I already pulled off the igniter module, thinking it might be the issue. I may have jumped the gun doing that but it's a learning experience and I'm ok with that.






 
  #8  
Old 12-06-22, 09:21 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 7
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
And when I do hook it up, what should it do? Start clicking?



 

Last edited by theegoldenone; 12-06-22 at 10:31 PM.
  #9  
Old 12-06-22, 10:31 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 7
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ok, I figured it out the correct way to wire it. When I connected it, I heard a really faint clicking (3 clicks) and then nothing.
 
  #10  
Old 12-07-22, 11:55 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
When you connect the spark module it creates sparks from the high voltage spike to ground.
I usually use an alligator clip lead connected to module ground to check for spark.
 
  #11  
Old 12-12-22, 01:35 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 7
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Update. It's fixed!

I pulled the ignition module out and wired up some leads to it. The first couple of times was very faint clicks for a few seconds then nothing. Then absolutely nothing was happening after a few more attempts. I came back a few hours later and tried again and it started working! Somehow, it must have "woke up". Put it back in the furnace and all is well again!

A special thanks to Pete for the assistance!
 
  #12  
Old 12-12-22, 05:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
Good job. If that spark module starts acting up again...replace it
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: