Pilot light keeps turning on and turning off


  #41  
Old 12-24-22, 12:25 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,675
Received 4,099 Upvotes on 3,682 Posts
The 24v and the TH/W is how the 24v is routed inside the module.
The 24v is now sent to the vent connector while the TH/W is sent to the circuitry.
That means if you connect to 24v on the new module nothing happens unless there is a dummy vent plug.
They keep changing this connection as the board used to know if there was a vent connected.

You can turn the pilot gas pressure up. It can only go so high.
 
  #42  
Old 12-24-22, 06:24 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 30
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you

SUCCESS, SUCCESS, SUCCESS, SUCCESS,

I used the new igniter module with connection to TH rather than 24v and the furnace started working.

Probably cleaning the pilot assembly was not necessary.

So BIG THANKS to PJMax for all his/her help.

One question though:.

I opened the pilot assembly and then closed it again. The bubble tester showed no bubbles from that joint and so I am assuming the there is no leak.

​​​​​​Is that fine?



 
  #43  
Old 12-24-22, 08:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,675
Received 4,099 Upvotes on 3,682 Posts
Pilot assembly ?
The pilot tube or the gas pilot adjustment ?
Checking with bubbles is fine. There is very low pressure there.

Well done. Merry Christmas.
 
Sam Kumar voted this post useful.
  #44  
Old 12-25-22, 04:43 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 30
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Merry Christmas ...

I hope I can help someone someday like you did for me

Thanks again.
 
  #45  
Old 01-30-23, 07:36 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 30
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Problem again

It has been a month since it seems my furnace was fixed.

Now it is a bit colder now.

And when I call for heat from my controller, I can here it clicking and trying to light the main burner. It takes more than 10 times and about 70 seconds to light the main burner.. I am guessing that it is doing the same as before but it does light up after 10 tries.

What could be wrong now?

Earlier I replaced the ignition module a and cleaned the pilot flame sensor. No cracks were found in the ceramic of the flame sensor and I could not see any other faults either.

Should I now replace the flame sensor?
 
  #46  
Old 02-28-23, 10:31 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 30
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Hello Pete,

Please help me one more time.

It is taking 7 tries of the ignitor modules for the main burner to turn on.

What could I do NOW?
 
  #47  
Old 03-01-23, 09:22 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 30
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Do I need to change this? I had cleaned it thoroughly when I replaced my igniter module before Christmas.



 
  #48  
Old 02-16-24, 10:31 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Feb 2024
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hello Sam, did you resolve your issue?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: