Black smoke coming out of chimney


  #1  
Old 12-18-22, 06:55 AM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
Received 4 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Black smoke coming out of chimney

Hello all, my rental property has a Thermopride oil furnace with the Beckett burner. The renters just notified me that the neighbors near the rental have said they have been noticing black smoke coming out of the chimney. I believe this chimney has never been cleaned. The furnace was cleaned by myself as best as I could. I'm guessing something needs cleaned or the furnace needs adjusted to burn cleaner? Any help is appreciated as always! Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 12-18-22, 07:13 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,134
Received 183 Upvotes on 169 Posts
What do you mean cleaned as best as you could?
Oil needs annual maintenance and cleaning using a soot vac.
When was the burner last tuned up with a nozzle, filter, pump strainer and such?
Itís also required to use a combustion analyzer to set the burner up.
 
  #3  
Old 12-18-22, 07:21 AM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
Received 4 Upvotes on 3 Posts
I changed the nozzle, oil filter, air filter, checked the electrode gap, removed the burner, vacuumed the inside there with my ash vacuum. I then vacuumed out the cleanouts.
 
  #4  
Old 12-18-22, 08:17 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,134
Received 183 Upvotes on 169 Posts
How did you set the flame? You really should use a meter.
You also could have fouled the nozzle.
Whatís pump pressure?
 
  #5  
Old 12-18-22, 10:06 AM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
Received 4 Upvotes on 3 Posts
I don't know how to set the pump pressure. I don't know how to set the flame either. I'm going to call the local HVAC guy tomorrow. Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 12-18-22, 10:21 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 62,035
Received 3,415 Upvotes on 3,063 Posts
There are so many variables with oil that it makes it important to have the burner serviced yearly.
Try to get a company you can rely on and schedule a yearly service in the fall.
 
  #7  
Old 12-18-22, 11:16 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 2,715
Received 132 Upvotes on 124 Posts
UJ,
With black smoke I would suspect not enough air for the oil being delivered as a starting point if black smoke is constant. If at the beginning It could be a delayed ignition which could be wrong electrode settings or possibly a transformer problem. Previous comments from posters should always be observed.
 
  #8  
Old 12-18-22, 02:24 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
Received 4 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Thanks all. I got thinking. This furnace is located inside of a small closet that had a louvered bi fold door. I replaced this door this last summer with a solid bifold door. Do you think this would contribute to the furnace not getting enough air? Just a thought.
 
  #9  
Old 12-18-22, 04:05 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,134
Received 183 Upvotes on 169 Posts
Hereís an article by Beckett on combustion air supply.
You cannot seal off a room that contains any fuel burning appliance. A constant supply of combustion air is required.

https://inspectapedia.com/heat/Combu...rs-Beckett.pdf
 
  #10  
Old 12-18-22, 05:20 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
Received 4 Upvotes on 3 Posts
Thanks!!! I read this. The only thing that has changed to my knowledge is me changing the louvered door to a solid door. I believe I need to go back to a louvered door to get more air.
 
  #11  
Old 12-18-22, 09:02 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,134
Received 183 Upvotes on 169 Posts
If the unit is putting out visible smoke it likely needs cleaned again. They soot fast when they are burning dirty.
The burner cone can soot as well. Has that been checked?
Whatís the overfire draft while the unit is running?
 
  #12  
Old 12-19-22, 02:12 AM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
Received 4 Upvotes on 3 Posts
I wish I knew the answer to your questions. I assumed too that it will need cleaned again. I'm going to call the HVAC company today from work and try to explain to the service guy what's going on. Hopefully, he relays the info correctly to the tech. Thanks again!
 
  #13  
Old 12-19-22, 06:48 PM
U
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 385
Received 4 Upvotes on 3 Posts
The HVAC guy came today and did say the furnace was burning dirty. He did say it wasn't getting enough air. He adjusted the air and got it to burn cleaner, according to the tenants anyway. The tenants opened up the furnace door a little to give the furnace more air and from what they said everything seems to be ok now.
 
  #14  
Old 01-27-23, 07:54 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 1,794
Received 50 Upvotes on 44 Posts
Did he use a combustion analyzer?
otherwise, no way to tell if it is burning properly.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: