furnace pilot light


  #1  
Old 12-02-01, 01:28 PM
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
furnace pilot light

The pilot light on my gas furnace will not stay on. I changed the thermocouple, but it still will not stay on. What's the next step?
 
  #2  
Old 12-02-01, 08:18 PM
Sharp Advice's Avatar
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: The Shake and Bake State USA
Posts: 10,398
Received 5 Votes on 4 Posts
Arrow ...More Detailed Information Requested

Hello jrjohnson44 and Welcome to the Do-It-Yourself web site and the Heating and Cooling forum.

Based solely on the information provided, the most likely problem is the magneto head within the gas valve body is either defective, and or the entire gas valve is defective, etc.

Why was the thermocouple replaced??? Who said it was defective and WHY? How was that determined???

Please provide more detailed information.

Kindly expound in more detail the exact problem situation with the heating unit. Also explain which type of heating unit it is.

>>>>VIP: Type of heating unit it is???.
Wall furnace, forced warm air, floor furnace????

The location of the heating unit is often times very important in determining the cause of a problem.

Location Examples:
Closet, attic, basement, roof, floor, wall mounted, etc.

Brand name of the unit. {Very important}

Age of the unit. {If known}

Fuel type used. {Natural Gas, Propane Gas, Other}

Model number and serial numbers of the unit, if available.
{Very important}

Is a fan is used to blow the heat out of registers or is the unit a radiant heater unit? {Radiant means no blower motor or fan and the heat naturally rises upwards}

Venting System. Natural Flow, Chimney, Fan Blower, Forced Vented, Coaxial Venting, Non Vented. {Very important}

What changes were made, if any, since the last time the heating unit was working properly?

Sometimes when routine required maintenance is done, we inadvertently cause a problem to develope which wasn't existing prior. Knowing what was done before the problem was discovered may help to determine the cause of the current problem.

In depth and detailed information regarding the problem, helps to explain the situation your dealing with in a manner that allows those replying in the forum to fully understand the problem and offer the best correction method to advise, which is based solely upon the information you provide.

Your assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Suggestions:
Check the manufacturers online web site for additional product information, problem discriptions and problem solving methods, pictorials and schematics.

Check the recent postings and ARCHIVES, within this forum, for other postings on your topic, specific appliances problem or conditions and read the replies offered. Chances are the topic, condition and or problem has already been covered in complete detail.

>>>VIP: To add more information, please use the reply button. By doing so, the additional information you add to this topic will remain within this posting {Thread} and allow the professionals in this forum to follow the topic and reply with helpful advice and suggestions.

Regards & Thanks
Gas Appliances Forum Moderator
Tom_Bart....Company Enterprises.....TCB4U2B2B
Energy Conservation Consultant & Natural Gas Appliance Diagnostics Technician.
 
  #3  
Old 12-03-01, 07:45 AM
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Tom, thanks for the reply. Following is the info you requested:

Description of problem: Noticed cold air comming from register. Blower was running. Burners were off. Turned thermostst down to get blower to shut down, but it kept running. Turnd the switch on the thermostat to off. Checked pilot light. Tried to relight it. Comes on with red button depressed. Flame looks good (blue). Goes off when released. Changed thermocouple. Same result.

The unit is a Carrier, natural gas, forced air, natural draft vented system.

Model 58GP100-CA
S/N 3689A01954

It is located in the basement.

No changes have been made.

The unit is app. 12 yrs. old.

A rep at Home Depot suggested I change the thermocouple.
 
  #4  
Old 12-03-01, 11:04 AM
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I took a close look at the old thermocouple. It was cracked around the top. Took the new one out and put another new one in. Everything is working now.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: