LUX Thermostat Wiring Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-05-02, 05:41 PM
sgb5150
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Angry LUX Thermostat Wiring Question

I'm installing a LUX TX500 Thermostat and need some wiring help. My old system (Magic Chef) had seven wires;

Blue (assigned to W2)
Green (assigned to G)
Yellow (assigned to Y1)
White (assigned to W1)
Black (assigned to C)
Red (assigned to R)
Orange (assigned to E)

On the new unit there are only 5 slots for wires and unfortunately, my wires are not labled only colored.

I have the primary wires hooked up;
Green to "G"
White to "W"
Yellow to "Y"
Red to "RC"

but have three wires and only one slot remaing. The slot is labled RH and I have no idea which of the three (black, orange or blue) remaining wires connect to it.... Any ideas???

sgb5150@yahoo.com
 
  #2  
Old 03-05-02, 07:14 PM
R-12guy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
are you replacing a Heatpump Thermostat?..... Cause if you are you got the wrong stat, that LUX is for One Stage Heat and A/C. Tell us a little about Heating system, Gas, oil, Heatpump?
 
  #3  
Old 03-05-02, 09:46 PM
sgb5150
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Yes, its a Heat Pump System...
 
  #4  
Old 03-06-02, 04:41 AM
R-12guy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Sorry, but that thermostat isnt going to work. Find one for a Heat pump........ Try a Honeywell T8411R1002 for the Taupe color , or T8411R1028 for the white one. You should be able to pick one up for under $100.. I tend to use Honeywell 99-99/100% of the time. Every LUX, I've ever seen has been a nite mare.
 
  #5  
Old 03-06-02, 07:01 AM
sgb5150
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks! How do I know if it's single or multi-stage?
 
  #6  
Old 03-06-02, 07:35 AM
R-12guy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
It should say on the Box... and the controls, fan switch; Auto and On.... and the system switch; cool, off, heat and emerg heat...
 
  #7  
Old 03-06-02, 08:45 AM
sgb5150
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Considering it has "AUX HEAT" I assume it's multi-stage...? I think I'm going to go with the HONEYWELL 3611. Thanks again for all of your help!!
 
  #8  
Old 03-06-02, 10:11 AM
R-12guy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
yes, heat pumps have two stages of heat. that 3611 must be from the home box...
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: