High Efficiency furnace exaust vents, How to keep animals out?


  #1  
Old 05-30-02, 05:19 AM
Carz n Compz
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
High Efficiency furnace exaust vents, How to keep animals out?

We just had our 18 year old furnace replaced with a new high effinency one. The old one used to run up thru the exaust cap on the roof. They closed the vent and now only the hot water tank goes to that vent. They drilled 2 holes and put PVC pipe from the new furnace to the outside beside the A/C unit. How can I keep small bugs and animals out. I will send you some pics if you want when I get back from work. Just post or PM ur email addy.

THX
 
  #2  
Old 05-30-02, 09:30 AM
jonathanisaac's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Earth
Posts: 224
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
------------------------------------------------
 

Last edited by jonathanisaac; 08-07-06 at 07:17 PM.
  #3  
Old 05-30-02, 01:07 PM
Carz n Compz
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
That name is origanal? Who else would think of something like that?!
 
  #4  
Old 05-30-02, 03:00 PM
jonathanisaac's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Earth
Posts: 224
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb

-----------------------------------------------------------
 

Last edited by jonathanisaac; 08-07-06 at 07:16 PM.
  #5  
Old 05-30-02, 05:00 PM
Carz n Compz
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I hate to by so rude but if you have the answer post it ok? Dont ask questions unrelated to the post. Yes I am from TCM? You are the same one also I am sure if you know me from TCM.
 
  #6  
Old 05-30-02, 05:02 PM
hvac4u's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NW atlanta
Posts: 3,145
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
on topic

supply houses will sell you a "birdscreen", but i recommend hardware cloth, as long as the holes are big enough to not restrict the airflow
 
  #7  
Old 05-31-02, 01:59 PM
PHnd
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Leave the pipes alone! They are not made to have an external screen installed. There is one built on the furnace. If you obstruct the pipe in any way it will cause problems, void warranties and could be hazardous. If there is one made for that furnace, you will have to get it from the furnace mfg. and no where else.

I've installed many, at ground level, cieling level and through roofs without a problem.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: