Custom status

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-01-04, 05:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 506
Custom status

How many posts/how long do you have to be around before you can have a custom status? ...or do you have to be a mod?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-01-04, 05:41 AM
majakdragon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: N.E. Arkansas
Posts: 7,827
Could you be a little more specific and explain what custom status is? Thanks.
 
  #3  
Old 11-01-04, 08:01 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,514
Well, I have 2500+ posts and am still locked out of the "New Posts" function. I think the magic number is 10,000, LOL.
 
  #4  
Old 11-01-04, 09:40 AM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Originally Posted by air biscuit
How many posts/how long do you have to be around before you can have a custom status? ...or do you have to be a mod?
What do you mean? Are you talking about the place beneath your username where it says "member"? You want to change that to something yourself?

If that's it, I THINK that I was able to do it at 100 posts...

Chris
 
  #5  
Old 11-01-04, 09:57 AM
majakdragon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: N.E. Arkansas
Posts: 7,827
Tow Guy. This morning I had the same problem. (never before, even before becoming a Mod) Gave me some message that it wasn't available and pick another option. Strange, but this happened after I had read abot 10 posts and hit the back button on my Puter. Not sure what it was all about. Might want to send a PM to a super Mod if. If I talk to one before that I will inquire.
 
  #6  
Old 11-01-04, 10:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 506
Originally Posted by WorldBuilder
What do you mean? Are you talking about the place beneath your username where it says "member"? You want to change that to something yourself?

If that's it, I THINK that I was able to do it at 100 posts...

Chris
Sorry, I should have been more specific. Yes, that's the spot I mean .

You're a mod in computers, though, right? Were you able to change it before you became a mod?
 
  #7  
Old 11-01-04, 11:37 AM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Yes, I think I changed it before I was a mod. If I recall, all it took was 100 posts. I don't think you have to be a mod here to do that. Could be wrong, though.

Chris
 
  #8  
Old 11-01-04, 12:05 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,628
My take on this.

When the site upgraded its software awhile ago, several functions that once worked and a few new ones that the old version didn't have, became troublesome.
In order to give moderators an easier time doing their work, a way was found to give them these functions.
In addition to moderators, there are a number of members that contribute heavily to this site, but do not wish to be moderators, that were given some of these functions.

As far as I know there is no set number of posts required to be a moderator.
A posting history is required and the recomendation of one or more moderators, plus an agreement to abide by diy.com's guidelines.

Sharp Advice is the clearing house for these matters.
PM him and he would be glad to advise.
 
  #9  
Old 11-01-04, 12:09 PM
majakdragon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: N.E. Arkansas
Posts: 7,827
I sent Sharp Advice a PM about the problem.
 
  #10  
Old 11-01-04, 03:21 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,628
What I meant about Sharp Advice being the clearing house was that he is the one that with the recommendation of another mod is in a position to promote members.

There is no set number of posts required to be promoted but at least "hundreds" of posts in addition to a recomendation would be needed to be considered for advancement.
 
  #11  
Old 11-01-04, 04:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 506
Originally Posted by GregH
When the site upgraded its software awhile ago, several functions that once worked and a few new ones that the old version didn't have, became troublesome.
I take it that this is the reason that I can't link to photos, and other links sometimes don't work, yes?

Thanks for the info... much appreciated .
 
  #12  
Old 11-01-04, 05:47 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,628
air biscuit,

No.
The reason links don't sometimes work is because not all forums have "codes" turned on.
If you look on the bottom of each page you will see a box entitled "posting rules".
This tells you what is activated in each forum.

A while back this site was attacked with the posting of some extremely inappropriate images.

At the time all ability to include codes and links was suspended and it has taken quite awhile to have them restored in some forums.
They are reactivated upon the request of a moderator or moderators who will take responsibility for monitoring and removing inappropriate posts.
Some forums are unmoderated or the moderators don't personally use this feature where the codes are not activated.

Click image:
<img src="http://www.doityourself.com/image/page/diy-logo-155x60.gif">
 
  #13  
Old 11-09-04, 07:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 15,834
As indicated, not all features are turned on in all forums. There have been too many posts that were in violation of forum rules. Forums that are not viginately monitored by mods tend not to have all features turned on. If you want to be a mod, then you need to contact other mods on the forum where you tend to hang out and have an area of expertise and contact mods to recomment you and Admin if you want to mod. This does not mean that all features will be turned on in the forum(s) where you apply. If you want to apply for an unmoderated forum, contact Admin. You can type an email to [email protected]

I don't think there is any magic number or anything like that as you suggest. There was so much porno and advertising abuse that everything got shut down. I talk too much, so I don't need pictures. But, I miss the visual illustrations by Plumber2000 and others that posted pictures that were worth over 1000 words. Plumber2000 posted P traps and T traps and explained all the details. I miss this visual opportunity, too, because this was one mod that had the expertise and needed visuals to explain everything.

Now, in most forums we are left to language. Plumber's visuals could explain everything in one photo. I miss such expertise, I don't need such visuals but mods like Plumber do. He needs to post how to do this and that. I tell you how to clean this or that or install this or that. I don't need visuals. Plumber does. I am regretfully sorry, but you and Plumber need to contact Admin. Plumber is one of the greatest on our website. If you wish to align yourself with him, then you need to PM him by clicking his name and PM feature. You will find that Plumber is a true-heart professional and gives his all to the website. Plumber is a first-rate pro and is awesome with expertise.
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:57 PM.