PC specs, chat, gaming & opinion thread!

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-20-04, 01:52 AM
Terminator20's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA,Washington
Posts: 865
PC specs, chat, gaming & opinion thread!

Hay, I got my new hard drive a couple days ago. Well, what happened was my 80GIG took a dump on me aftor only a couple years. Its not unhurd of that a drive goes out soon aftor you buy it cause of some defect. But it is not normal for that to happen. HD's are supposed to last at least 10 years, and are guarenteed for 4 or 5 years. It was under warrenty, I could of used it but I chosed to buy a larger hard drive considering I only had 30GIGs tops last time it was working. I am a gamer and enjoy my storage space lol. Had a little trouble at first getting Win2000 to recognise the full capacity of the drive but I figured it out! Its a Western Digital 200GIG 7200 RPM 8MB Hard Drive.

Who here is a gamer? Anyone play the ever popular Doom3 and Half Life 2? Awsome games. I just wish that they work out the bugs more with Half Life 2. Still kind of glitchy. I like farcry, but not enough to buy it yet. I have played the demos's and am impressed. But HL2 beats them all in my opinion. I will probably buy Farcry next March when I have bought everything else lol. When I found out that Steam was the server in which you have to sign up with and install there spyware, I was a little annoyed. But then I thought, well there is nothing I can do except keep my firewall going. And Steam is not really spyware, I just think it is cause I am paranoied lol. Whenever you connect to someone elses server, I get a little werry. Whats your take on this gamers?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-20-04, 04:36 AM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Term, why is this here? I don't understand.
Originally Posted by Terminator20
HD's are supposed to last at least 10 years, and are guarenteed for 4 or 5 years.
This couldn't possibly be farther from the truth, sorry.

Originally Posted by Terminator20
Who here is a gamer?
Not me.

Chris

PS. Mattison, would this make more sense in Computers?
 
  #3  
Old 12-20-04, 07:48 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
I have found that some drives last longer than the warranty period, but I count myself lucky when that is the case. I figure a 4 year warranty, 4 year life. The nice feature of the warranty is that the manufacturer will replace a failed HD even with the smallest amount of warranty remaining.

I play games here. Doom3 was a drudge. Nice graphics. I lost interest in it about 3/4 of the way through and uninstalled it. I don't see any replayability in Doom3.

HL2 is good. I haven't had any problems with the game running well. HL2 was not as captivating as HL, but the fps genre is more developed than when HL came out in '98. The reality of the graphics and applicability of the laws of physics are much improved in HL2.

I don't care much for the awkward means of controlling the dune buggy and air boat. The character does not seem to have any awareness of his own physical existence. Why else would the character hang on a doorway when walking through? In the real world, I can get through a doorway even if I bump into the jamb when walking through it. It is not necessary for me to back up and try again.

I have Far Cry sitting on the table. I haven't installed it, yet. I enjoyed UT 2004, but am still a fan of Quake 3 rocket arena.

Athlon 2000+, 1 gig DDR, nVidia 6800 OC video card, XP Pro.
 
  #4  
Old 12-20-04, 12:31 PM
Terminator20's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA,Washington
Posts: 865
Awsome computer chfite! Mine is a
Intel 2GHZ 1GIG RAM 200GIG HD FX5900XT 17inch montior. Soon to be upgraded to a AMD 64 4000+ I posted this in chats and wines because I thought it was a general disucusion. And I have gotten in trouble posting non question in this forum before. But if its alright, then we continue here lol.
 
  #5  
Old 12-20-04, 03:34 PM
Davejb's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 763
A hard drives life span is from dead out of the box to 15 years (my oldest one). I'm currently playing FarCry, I love these types of games and have played the original Half Life more than once. Haven't got #2 yet, but soon. I have Doom 3 and played for about an hour to check it out, but I won't finish it till FarCry is done. The weak link in my PC is my GeForce 4 Ti 4200 128MB graphics card, but it plays everything I throw at it so it's staying for now.
 
  #6  
Old 12-20-04, 04:09 PM
Terminator20's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA,Washington
Posts: 865
That is one thing I agree with many people about Doom3. Its a good game, but, it would be much better if they had incorperated the phisics and geomod that you find in HL2. In my opinion HL2 is the best game, Farcry second, and Doom3 third. You should deffinetly buy HL2 Davejb. You will be impressed with it! The only thing I don't like about HL2 is the Steam Server.

Davejb, you can buy a Geforce FX 5900XT for only $185.00. And it will probably be down to $160.00 next year.
 
  #7  
Old 12-20-04, 04:13 PM
Davejb's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 763
Originally Posted by Terminator20
Davejb, you can buy a Geforce FX 5900XT for only $185.00. And it will probably be down to $160.00 next year.
Yeah, but I can play in 32 bit color at 1024x768 with no problems and nice frame rates, so why spend the money? When it can't do the job anymore I'll retire it
 
  #8  
Old 12-20-04, 05:32 PM
Terminator20's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA,Washington
Posts: 865
Good point. You could wait for the next generation of games. Ones better than HL2, Doom3, Farcry.
 
  #9  
Old 12-20-04, 05:58 PM
tae's Avatar
tae
tae is offline
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2,469
3.0 ghz p4 w/1.5 gig 3200 memory and dual s.a.t.a. 120 gig drives.
not the best, but will be upgraded soon at tax return time!
my weak link is also the vid card (NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200) but works on everything i play, which is mostly modified quake 3.
 
  #10  
Old 12-20-04, 07:18 PM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Oh, BTW... You originally asked if anyone had a 200GB HDD. I don't, but I do have a half a TB. Is that enough space?

Chris

PS. I'm upgrading to a full TB soon...
 
  #11  
Old 12-20-04, 07:34 PM
Terminator20's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA,Washington
Posts: 865
500GIG Crap, thats a awsome drive. Micronet makes a External drive made up of 5 200GIG drives. They are selling them for 2,000 dollars. About the drive thing. I am trying to figure how many people have a 200GIG drive. Because I think statistics show that most have 20GIG 40GIG 80GIG and 120GIG drives. I think 200GIG may be minority. What do you guys think? I also think that people with 2GHZ or better CPU's are also minority. I think most have 1.2GHZ to 1.8GHZ machines. If you are a gamer, than you know you need 2GHZ or better. Thats why I bought my 2GHZ machine in 2002. I am so ready for my next setup. Looking to build a Athlon 64 4000+!
 
  #12  
Old 12-21-04, 04:54 AM
Davejb's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 763
Most of the machines that I see are between 1 and 2Ghz. Mines a P4 Prescott 2.8 overclocked to 3.2, 1GB of RAM, 2 120GB SATA, 2 80GB, 12x DVD+-RW.
 
  #13  
Old 12-21-04, 06:02 AM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Originally Posted by Terminator20
500GIG Crap, thats a awsome drive.
Not a single drive, though. Mine's a RAID system.

Chris
 
  #14  
Old 12-21-04, 10:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 506
80 gig and 120 gig are still the sweet spot when it comes to price/performance/size, I think. I've got an 80 gig Wester Digital Special Edition, which does it's job just fine. I hardly ever fill up my hard drives - if I'm not using it, it gets uninstalled, or put on a backup, so I don't need too much storage.

BTW, I'm running an Athlon XP Mobile 2400+ overclocked to 2.4 Ghz. That's a 600 Mhz overclock . XP Mobiles are overclocking beasts . Also, 512MB RAM, and a Sapphire 9800 Pro (also overclocked, of course).

If you're in the market for a new graphics card, I would recommend a Geforce 6600GT. They far outperform the last generation's top of the line cards, and can be had for about the same price (PCI express cards in the $180 to $200 range and AGP version in the low $200s).

I love FPSs, but I don't have nearly enough time to play as much as I'd like. I'm still tooling around a bit with Doom 3, and I'll probably go on to HL2 after that. I'm also very much into real time strategy, and hope to be getting Rome Total War this Xmas .
 
  #15  
Old 12-21-04, 02:09 PM
Terminator20's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA,Washington
Posts: 865
Great system Airbiscuit. You won't need to upgrade it till 2006. Because the Athlon 64 4000+ is too expensive for me right now, thinking of buying either the end of year 2005 or the beginning of 2006. By then there will probably be a better CPU which will cost as much as the 4000+ right now lol.
 
  #16  
Old 12-22-04, 12:37 AM
Terminator20's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA,Washington
Posts: 865
People who have HL2 know its a little buggy right now, and there has already been a update for it. But, there needs to be more. I know that the game was desinged for the use of a ATI graphics card, but nvidia card does it pretty well except for stutter issues when loading scenery. Does anyone know when the next updates will be available threw Steam? Cause right now I am kind of stuck behind a
 
  #17  
Old 12-22-04, 07:40 AM
Forums Admin
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
This thread really belongs in Chats & Whines.
 
  #18  
Old 12-22-04, 12:19 PM
Terminator20's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA,Washington
Posts: 865
First was in Chats and wines, then moved to computers, then back to chats and wines again.
 
  #19  
Old 12-22-04, 12:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
I have HL2 and have noticed some stuttering when it loads initially, but not later on. I have an nVidia 6800 OC card. Steam complains that the drivers are not current, but they are as recent as nVidia offers.
 
  #20  
Old 12-22-04, 01:05 PM
Terminator20's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA,Washington
Posts: 865
You were able to aford one of those 300 or so dollar cards? Well its not an ultra but still. I guess some people can aford those. But when it comes to the Ultras of the 6800 line, probably only rich people. Because those cards cost over 500 dollars.
 
  #21  
Old 12-22-04, 05:16 PM
WorldBuilder's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,471
Originally Posted by Forums
This thread really belongs in Chats & Whines.
I requested it to be moved from C&W to Computers. It's a computer topic. Why is it back here?

Chris
 
  #22  
Old 12-22-04, 05:30 PM
Terminator20's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA,Washington
Posts: 865
If I orginally posted it in Computers, I would have gotten into trouble. Basically in trouble for posting General discussion in a proffesional forum is not allowed. I understand those rules too, but, it is a little strict. But once mentioned that I broke a rule, I will try my best to not break it again. I am not perfect. But try to be lol.
 
  #23  
Old 12-23-04, 05:29 AM
mattison's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinti, OH
Posts: 5,549
The topic is fine either here or there. I don't mind it being here at all, but did think it would get more traffic in computers. Actually I find it intresting since I don't do online gaming to read the thread.
 
  #24  
Old 12-23-04, 03:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
Posts: 506
Originally Posted by Terminator20
You were able to aford one of those 300 or so dollar cards? Well its not an ultra but still. I guess some people can aford those. But when it comes to the Ultras of the 6800 line, probably only rich people. Because those cards cost over 500 dollars.
...or younger people with a lot of disposable income. I go to a lot of hardware/modding sites where the posters regularly have a rig with these types of cards (sometimes in two different computers). These are guys who also go for the $800+ processors (Athlon FX55 and Pentium Extreme Edition).

Personally, I don't think the staggering price tag is worth the small increase in performance.
 
  #25  
Old 12-23-04, 03:08 PM
Terminator20's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: USA,Washington
Posts: 865
I dig that. I'm a man of limited money, therefor buy the best I can with what have, and enjoy what I have for some years before upgrading. For instance, I built my Intel P4 in 2002. I am now ready to upgrade in 2005 or 2006 with a Athlon 64 4000+
 
  #26  
Old 12-23-04, 08:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
6800 OC - never overlook the employee discount.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'