Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Community Meeting Center For Non Governmental & Non Political Forum Topics > General Chats and Discussions
Reload this Page > Going to ask my girlfriend to marry me, what's the best way to look 4 a quality ring?

Going to ask my girlfriend to marry me, what's the best way to look 4 a quality ring?

Closed Thread

Old 09-05-05, 08:50 PM
Sawdustguy
Visiting Guest
Going to ask my girlfriend to marry me, what's the best way to look 4 a quality ring?

Any ideas? I'm oblivious to this, since I've never done this before. I was thinking 1kt for the engagement ring and 1-1/2kt for the wedding ring with possibly 1/4kt in side stones around the band.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-06-05, 05:03 AM
Typically the engagement ring is the one with the large diamond on it, and the wedding ring is just a band. Usually, women wear them together after you're married, so I think if both had large diamonds, it might [not] look right.

1 to 1 1/2kt for the engagement and then a band with small diamonds around it might be nice.

Last edited by Annette; 09-06-05 at 11:36 AM. Reason: added the word "not".
Old 09-06-05, 11:34 AM
CAUTION: you need to take a good hard look at her other existing jewelry and get a good idea of what she likes. pay attention to whether her existing rings are balanced in style, or asymmetrical. traditional & conservative or funky & unusual. and if applicable, if she seems to prefer stones that are channel set versus ones set in prongs. also, does she wear mostly yellow gold jewelry, or silver? if silver, you can go with white gold, or platinum.

but, if she seems particularly particular about things, i'd suggest you ask her to marry you without the ring, and then go together to find the ring. it's a really big purchase and a really important piece of jewelry to take any chances on getting wrong.