A little Tip

Old 06-12-06, 04:28 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
A little Tip

Ok I learned this from watching tv don't know if it belongs here or chats and whines. but since it has to do with electric I will post it here.

its not the amps thats kills you its the current. Just 6 milly amps across the heart is enough to kill you.Think about that.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-12-06, 04:33 AM
Your statement does not make sense. Current is measured in amps. Perhaps you meant to say, "Its not the voltage thats kills you its the current."

Old 06-12-06, 04:35 AM
yeah voltage thanks I'm not good at remembering things.

OK heres the correct version of the tip.

Its not the voltage that kills its the current. JUST 6 milly amps across the heart is enough to kill you.

Last edited by lexmarks567; 06-12-06 at 05:22 AM.
Old 06-12-06, 09:34 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
The current (mA) will stop your heart, but voltage causes burns. Really both can cause serious harm to the body. Higher voltages burn not only the skin at contact, but the inside of the body as well. These internal burns usually result in limb amputation if the victim survives.

The real moral is that electricity is unforgiving in any form; always be safe.

Old 06-12-06, 11:57 AM
Originally Posted by ibpooks
The current (mA) will stop your heart, but voltage causes burns. Really both can cause serious harm to the body. Higher voltages burn not only the skin at contact, but the inside of the body as well. These internal burns usually result in limb amputation if the victim survives.

The real moral is that electricity is unforgiving in any form; always be safe.
Then why can you grab a Van de Graff generator and make all your hair stand up with about 100,000V applied to your body?

I thought the burns were from the current, as well.

Of course, it's the voltage that supplies the necessary current to break your skin's insulation and body's resistance. So, yes, both are significant. But the heat is in the current.