Self Check out

Old 11-13-06, 09:50 AM
Self Check out

Do you guys use these?

I went into Walmart the other day and used the "Self Check Out" b/c it was quicker-no one in line!

I spent $1.17 and needed $20.00 cash back...I got $21. Sweet!... At first I got confused and had to look at the receipt ha! Finally realized I got $1.00 too much. Couldn't accept the fact I got back more than I should so I went to the cashier and told her. She looked at me weird...I mean...who complains about getting too much money back?
She had to stare at the receipt too b/c she didn't understand me. She realized that particular Self Check out wasn't working right, but I think she kept it open.

I was in fact tempted to go buy something again and use that same check out to see what I would get again.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-13-06, 09:52 AM
I've been using the self check out for several years. I always love when you see someone using it with a cartfull of stuff to avoid the lines.

Old 11-13-06, 10:19 AM
I've been using them for years for grocery shopping. One third of the checkouts at our local Stop and Shop are automated. HD and Lowes have put them in their stores too. Great for groceries, less efficient for the hardware store. Tough to scan a 4'X8' sheet of plywood.

Old 11-13-06, 10:52 AM
Group Moderator
I love them, especially when I've just dashed in for a couple of items and there are long lines at the regular checkouts (and since an express checkout is "20 items or less" or some such ridiculous number).

Old 11-13-06, 12:32 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
I guess I'm the oddball
While I have no problems with self serve gas and pay at the pump, I detest the self check out line. First off I prefer the personal touch dealing with a real live person. Second I always seem to get the checkout line that doesn't work right or the items I've picked won't scan It always seems to take me longer and doesn't do my blood pressure any good