Question about Flying these days...

Old 05-28-07, 04:17 PM

Hi all. Just wanted to plug into some traveling wisdom before I fly tomorrow. It's been YEARS since I have flown and I'm afraid I've forgotten everything and since starting this week, I'll have to fly every week this summer, well... I figured a refresher would be good.

For flying nationally, what kind of ID is needed? I find myself in a pretty tight position because I don't drive (very much a city girl here) and my passport expires on July 1, 2007. I have my college ID (yes, I'm still a lowly college student) but I'm sure that will definitely not cut it. And I suppose an expired passport (when I have to fly in July) won't really help either. I would go for an expedited renewal right away, but they need to keep your old passport and send it back to you with the new one, right? What do you guys think? Perhaps a state ID? I would have to get one of those at the RMV, but I'm sure it won't take a month for them to send me one if I apply for it next week... I hope?

Also, how many carry-ons are allowed now a days? And what would you suggest bringing/not bringing on the plane. I would really loathe to check my bags since I'm traveling with the company and I only have a laptop bag and a wheely bag (duffel bag size). Any suggestions?

Thanks all!

Sponsored Links
Old 05-28-07, 04:40 PM
Group Moderator
Call the airline and check, but I think even an expired passport counts as proper ID - I know it does with respect to proving a new hire is eligible to work in the US on the I-9 form.

Old 05-28-07, 06:35 PM
Group Moderator
Lots of good info on TSA site:

http://www.tsa.gov/travelers/index.shtm

Old 05-28-07, 07:18 PM
Awesome! Thanks a bunch you guys! I knew I could count on here for a quick and explanatory reply. I'll tell you how it goes when I get back!

Old 05-29-07, 04:44 AM
Group Moderator
If you don't mind me asking, what were the departure and arrival points?

Old 05-29-07, 05:38 AM