Forum Update and URLs in Posts

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-31-08, 08:07 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,519
Forum Update and URLs in Posts

Got a totally unexpected reaction from the upgraded forum software when including the basic URL for an image hosting site. It added descriptive words I didn't type. Makes my post almost look like spam. Not really a problem since they are clickable just weird. Wonder where the forum software is pulling the extra info from.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-31-08, 10:19 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,485
Same thing happened to me. I actually when back and edited the post to let everyone know I have nothing to do with the link and was not advertising.
 
  #3  
Old 10-31-08, 10:48 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,519
Not as benign as I first thought maybe. A poster in Electrical seems to have had URL links to images altered in a way that no longer directs you to the image, only the site. Will test here after work.
 
  #4  
Old 10-31-08, 10:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,519
This is a test to see if an image link will be distorted.

http://i34.************/4kgy7m.gif

Edit: OK this time the software didn't change it. I wonder though if I just post the homepage URL?

http://.************

Edit: OK maybe they fixed the problem because this time when posting the homepage URL nothing was added.
 
  #5  
Old 11-01-08, 04:32 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,628
Ya, there have been a few bumps with the new software but that ************ service will likely be soon unavailable for use on these forums.
This redirecting of url addresses is a major security problem like a similar service that has the word url behind the first word of tinypic is which has been disabled on these forums.


Here is what you get when you type ************ but use a t instead of a b: ************
 
  #6  
Old 11-01-08, 08:20 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,519
OK now you confused me. What's with the asterisks? They weren't there when I did the test posts. Did they change the software after my test and the software added them?

Are you saying hyper links will not only be disabled but obscured with asterisks? The use of links is very important in forums like the Electrical forum.

You wrote:
Here is what you get when you type ************ but use a t instead of a b: ************
What did you mean by that. (Hmmm...Interesting the BB icons don't seem to work. I had to hand code the quote. Is that part of the change?)
 
  #7  
Old 11-01-08, 09:01 AM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
also I notice "smilies" are not working

spell check isn't working


and why does it say "permalink" after the posting number (at the top right of each post)?
 
  #8  
Old 11-01-08, 09:43 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,519
The post with messed up links that originially caused me to post this thread now comes up blank after a long load. It was: "wires on ele motor " In "AC-DC".
 
  #9  
Old 11-02-08, 01:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,363
testing testing you have to type the smiley out manually. this software is not working right with the board.
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:44 AM.