Why am I not allowed to post attachments?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-24-09, 08:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicagoland area
Posts: 20
Why am I not allowed to post attachments?

I am rather new here and I noticed that when I wanted to respond to a question that someone asked and showed them what I did but could not post a picture. Why is that? Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-25-09, 03:50 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,628
These forums do not have the ability to host images.
You need to upload your images to a free host like Photo Bucket or similar and then link to the image.

There is a button above the reply box that will code it to appear in posts.
 
  #3  
Old 03-25-09, 07:11 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,519
Please note though you can not use TinyPic to post.
 
  #4  
Old 03-26-09, 05:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 386
imageshack also does this for free. Once you upload (its simple) I typically use the "thumbnails for forums".

Copy and paste the text. That way the image hosting place does the work for you.
 
  #5  
Old 03-26-09, 05:40 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Found out something new (for me), on photobucket. If you copy/paste the HTML code mid sentence, it will only give a clickable link to the picture in blue. If you do it at the end of your post, it will post the actual picture. At least it did it for me yesterday. Curious.
 
  #6  
Old 03-26-09, 06:08 AM
pmgca's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: CANADA
Posts: 893
Avoid imageshack

Captain,

Notice that we don't accept imageshack's direct pictures.
Imageshack's pictures links come "loaded" with a second link containing advertisement, so in some cases, the link is edited by the Moderators. Or the user is invited to post another picture

I'd recommentd Photobucket or Yahoo's Flickr
 
  #7  
Old 03-26-09, 06:15 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,519
I use to use Image shack but then Image shack started requesting you not use the base URL and I had been using it in some forums. Guess they wanted to be sure the ads were included. To insert an image you can also use the second icon from right, the one next to the quote..
 

Last edited by ray2047; 03-26-09 at 06:37 AM.
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:38 AM.