Tipping contractors?

Old 10-12-09, 10:45 AM
Tipping contractors?

In general, I'm new to hiring contractors for home improvement projects and such. I've never really paid someone for doing a job. But the other day, I had someone tear down an old metal shed in my backyard and I paid him for the job based on the agreed upon price. However, he looked disappointed that the cheque was all that I gave him. I was wondering whether he was expecting a tip, which got me thinking whether it is common practice or not. Beyond tipping at restaurants, concierges, cabs, etc., I don't know if there is a rule or etiquette.

What are your thoughts on the subject?

Sponsored Links
Old 10-12-09, 11:11 AM
Super Moderator
I have sometimes tipped the worker on a job....but only if he goes a little above and beyond what was called for.

Examples....had fill dirt and topsoil delivered for about a 35 x 75 ft sloped area . Boss and I agreed on price for delivery and rough grade. Delivery guy/equipment operator did both rough grade then helps smooth grade by hand using rakes. Took excess topsoil and put in pile on other side of house for my later use. Tipped him $20, even though he said it wasn't necessary.

Had about 75 ft of block wall constructed, the 2 guys doing the work (not owner) asked me if I'd like some caps on a small (maybe 10-12 caps) retaining wall/flowerbed reset since they were loose. Not a lot of work for them but I tipped each $10. This was in 105 degree heat.

Would I ever tip the guy/owner I negotiated the price with? Again..not unless he went above and beyond what the job specs were. Or something like "I noticed your garage door needed adjusting and tightening of hardware so I went ahead and fixed that while I was installing your thingamabob". Not that I'd ever need someone to install my thingamabob or adjust my garage door...lol

Old 10-12-09, 11:22 AM