question about manufactured homes

Old 02-26-10, 10:03 AM
Question question about manufactured homes

Hello ~ this is my first time here. we are remodeling our manufactured home. wanting to raise our 7' walls to 8' walls. This will require raising the roof. Any suggestions on which forum I should post this to?? Thanks ~

Sponsored Links
Old 02-26-10, 11:00 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
I'm not sure any forum would work, but you might try walls & ceilings.
Is this what used to be called a pre fab house? I think that it would require professional help and building permits to attempt this project. A mistake could collapse the house and your insurance would just say, tsk tsk.

Old 02-26-10, 11:37 AM
Super Moderator
7 ft walls? Is this a mobile home/trailer...or a real manufactured home? If its a manufactured...it must be kinda old....all the ones I've seen in the last 10 yrs or so are pretty much standard. You know...regular height doors and walls and such.

Old 02-26-10, 01:03 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thankful, welcome to the forums! The mods will move the post if it bothers them. We're good to go. You have 7' ceilings??? When was it manufactured? Has there been any floor work done on it to cause the raising of the floor?
In short, you will not be able to raise the roof without totally rebuilding the walls. You can't just set studs on top of the existing plate to raise the roof. It has to come from the base upward in a single move. As Vic mentioned, what size doors do you have? Most are 6'8", meaning your door is almost as tall as your ceiling.

Old 02-26-10, 01:26 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Most mobile homes have 7' tall walls, the newer ones will have a cathedral like ceiling but the walls along the exterior are still at 7' If I remember correctly, MH doors are usually 76" in height.