Car Buying--What in the world has happened

Old 05-31-11, 07:43 AM
Question Car Buying--What in the world has happened

I have bought a lot of vehicles in my 65 years. I have never bought new and I am a mechanic.
I have always thought that I got a better deal with a NEW Car Dealer then an individual, and I have checked with as many as 25 different dealers in my surrounding area.
I am shocked at the prices Individuals and Dealers are asking. I always consult NADA--Kellys--and Ecmunds to determine price and I have never paid Dealer Retail for a vehicle:NO NO NO:
In todays market, EVERY vehicle I have checked, is priced 1K to as much as 6K ABOVE any RETAIL appraisal I have checked.
Most of these prices are obtained from the internet sites and Negotiating starts from this price. Some are advertised a "No Haggle".
One dealer told me that most people don't care what the automobile price is--as long as they can make the monthly payment

Sponsored Links
Old 05-31-11, 08:02 AM
It looks like the various valuation sources have not been keeping up to where the retail used car market has gone in recent weeks. High demand with low supply always means one thing and that is what you are seeing on the lots. Inflated used car pricing especially if the vehicle is relatively fuel efficient. Seller's market verses buyer's market.

Old 05-31-11, 08:16 AM
Originally Posted by equinox View Post
It looks like the various valuation sources have not been keeping up to where the retail used car market has gone in recent weeks. High demand with low supply always means one thing and that is what you are seeing on the lots. Inflated used car pricing especially if the vehicle is relatively fuel efficient. Seller's market verses buyer's market.