Forum Slow or Just Me?

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-24-11, 11:32 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Forum Slow or Just Me?

Is it just me or is this forum loading slow? Other sites are loading fine, it's just this one.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-24-11, 11:43 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,019
Seems to be just you...haven't seen any other comments.

Since you haven't been on much and they made quite a few tweaks over the last few weeks, might want to try clearing your cache
 
  #3  
Old 12-24-11, 12:10 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Originally Posted by Gunguy45 View Post
Seems to be just you...haven't seen any other comments.

Since you haven't been on much and they made quite a few tweaks over the last few weeks, might want to try clearing your cache
I'm doing this on my Dad's computer now since my netbook crashed.
 
  #4  
Old 12-24-11, 02:00 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 44,030
Mine is slow at times but other times it works fine. While it might be partly the site, I think the biggest factor is my computer being over 5 yrs old..... I remember buying the pc but can't remember what yr
 
  #5  
Old 12-24-11, 04:44 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Justin, it's slow, but we're here all the time, so we don't notice. Now you go to a zippity doo dah forum site, it may race, and ours is, therefore slower.
Step son gave me an LCD monitor on my last visit to replace my 400 lb Gateway CRT. Nice. So I felt good and cleaned up my office for my new monitor! Turned on the computer and tried to do some internet work. Hoooowwww slllloooowww it was. I'm like Marksr, I don't remember when I bought it....Gateway 550 Mhz dinosaur. Got on line really quickly and bought a Pentium 4 2.0 Ghz 120 Gb harddrive, all the bells and whistles for $35. should be here in a few days. Why do we wait until things break or become obnoxiously slow before we replace them? Wives not included
 
  #6  
Old 12-24-11, 06:55 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Originally Posted by chandler View Post
Justin, it's slow, but we're here all the time, so we don't notice. Now you go to a zippity doo dah forum site, it may race, and ours is, therefore slower.
Step son gave me an LCD monitor on my last visit to replace my 400 lb Gateway CRT. Nice. So I felt good and cleaned up my office for my new monitor! Turned on the computer and tried to do some internet work. Hoooowwww slllloooowww it was. I'm like Marksr, I don't remember when I bought it....Gateway 550 Mhz dinosaur. Got on line really quickly and bought a Pentium 4 2.0 Ghz 120 Gb harddrive, all the bells and whistles for $35. should be here in a few days. Why do we wait until things break or become obnoxiously slow before we replace them? Wives not included
That's small. I'm typing this post from a compaq with 2.1ghz and a pretty big hd, 2gb ram and it's small.
 
  #7  
Old 12-25-11, 07:38 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: sw sub chicago
Posts: 1,130
Originally Posted by marksr View Post
Mine is slow at times but other times it works fine. While it might be partly the site, I think the biggest factor is my computer being over 5 yrs old..... I remember buying the pc but can't remember what yr
same here. sometimes it just "hangs". if i click again = bam.
 
  #8  
Old 12-25-11, 08:45 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Aaha! I found out part of our slow/fast/mediocre speed here. May not be the site on my end after all. They are installing fiber optic at the end of my driveway (1/2 mile or so). How cool! They are fiddling with all the wiring and will inevitably mess it up for a while (independent contractor), but it should scream when the phone guys straighten it up.
 
  #9  
Old 12-25-11, 09:46 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,994
I often have a delay with a post loading. i have to wait for the background to go from gray to white before I scroll down and click First unread post. If I try to scroll down to it it just pops back to the top as the page finishes loading and I have to scroll down again. Sometime have to wait about 10 seconds. This is apparently because of ads loading and page shifting do to reforming around ads.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes