How to estimate a job

Old 02-01-12, 09:42 AM
How to estimate a job

Like the title says, im just getting into remodeling for a living and getting on the books i guess you would say. im just confused on how to charge people. Im pretty much giving out a number and usually ending up within$15-20 on the material but im killing myself on the labor. my question is there a project estimator or something out there that will guesstimate for me or give me a rough guesstimate,at least something to start with and build off of that?

thanks in advance mike

Sponsored Links
Old 02-01-12, 11:53 AM
Group Moderator
I think this is where experience really comes to play. A program can help with materials but labor is all up to you. Do you work fast or slow? what kind of tools do you have? What level of quality do you aim for? What are you remodeling? What is the condition of the building? All of these things can dramatically affect the time required and every project is different.

Old 02-01-12, 01:47 PM
Have you called any of your competitors and gotten the prices they charge? If you have already started business and quoted jobs you can call the customers back who didn't accept your bid and ask them what they chose to do.

Old 02-01-12, 01:58 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Like Dane said, it comes with experience. It also has to do with the market. You charge more than the market can stand, you'll eat beenie weenies forever. The housing market is basically at the bottom right now. Some recovery is in the offing. We are busy with remodels, but nothing like it was 3 years ago.
Sometimes you can set an hourly rate, sometimes you have to go by the "job" price. Larger projects will require you to do a contract package, where, if you goof, you eat beenie weenies, again.
Materials is not that difficult to figure. Labor is very sensitive, so you have to be careful not to charge too much, and not to charge too little. I wish there was a magic pill, but there isn't.