Surprising number of posts

Old 11-02-12, 12:39 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Surprising number of posts

Working from home today building a mantle for a client, so I've had more than my fair share of "Watching Glue Dry" time today. But was surprised to notice that of the 148 posts listed under the "Today's Posts" category, 28% were Electrical related and 20% were HVAC related. Thats almost 50% of all posts dedicated to Systems that require special tools to diagnose, or things that can zap you into non-existence.

As a Contractor, I'm pretty bold in what I will undertake, but if it involves removing the front cover of the panel box or diagnosing something that runs on Natural Gas or 220v, I call in my Electrician or HVAC guy. One, I don't have the licensing that specifically allows me to work on these (which is a liability should something go wrong) and Two, these are highly specialized fields. You need to apprentice for upwards of 5 years before you can obtain you license.

Just surprised at the number of people willing to roll up their sleeves and dig into these categories.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-02-12, 12:45 PM
Apprentice for 5 years? Must be a VA thing.

The HVAC stuff is basically electrical. Anything involved with the freon cannot be done by a homeowner. Electrical is fairly straight forward for most home related items.

Old 11-02-12, 01:12 PM
The electrical and HVAC forums are probably the most popular as far as number of posts with the automotive running a close third.

Droo, while I can't remember just what trade I know there ARE some that have a six year apprenticeship.

Czizzi, The general consensus here is that people are going to do what they are going to do. If we can help them do it in relative safety we try. When something is obviously over the abilities of the person we try our best to dissuade them until they are able to better educate themselves.

Old 11-02-12, 01:13 PM
Group Moderator