unable to "auto-quote" posts

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-13-13, 08:54 AM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,512
unable to "auto-quote" posts

Hello there. I know this general chat catagory of the forum is for non-forum topics, but perhaps it'll be okay to ask about it here anyway. I've tried twice asking the webmaster of the website here, but never get a reply. My issue is that I seem to not have the ability/function available to "auto-quote" (I guess you might call it ) the previous posts of others in a thread I am replying/responding/posting to. There seems to be no "quote" button when replying. I recall I used to have this ability, but then it seemed to disappear on me. You know what I mean, it's the ability to reply and select/have some or all of a particular previous post of another person that you're replying/referring to in your post "auto-quoted" in your reply, so that your other readers have a clear idea specifically of what/why you're referring to in the thread. Any comments/advice about this appreciated. Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-13-13, 08:59 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,497
The quote function was far more often used incorrectly/needlessly and it was a pain for us moderators to clean up this mis-use. It was decided the quote button should be removed from the forums as a result.

Should you need to quote, cut and paste works.
 
  #3  
Old 03-13-13, 09:14 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,800
Hello there. I know this general chat catagory of the forum is for non-forum topics, but perhaps it'll be okay to ask about it here anyway. I've tried twice asking the webmaster of the website here,
Cut and paste the pertinent part you want to quote into your reply. Then highlight it and click the little quote balloon in the menu bar.

Unfortunately you will get a little "read more" blurb "Read more: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/general-chats-discussions/490678-unable-auto-quote-posts.html#ixzz2NR9mOKYt" like this. You can either leave it or delete it.
 
  #4  
Old 03-13-13, 09:18 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,497
You can either leave it or delete it.
I delete it
 
  #5  
Old 03-13-13, 09:20 AM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,512
Cut and paste the pertinent part you want to quote into your reply. Then highlight it and click the little quote balloon in the menu bar.

Ahh. Finally! Thanks a bunch there Gunguy! If I did it right I suppose above this there should be your quoted reply.
edit: and sure enough, there it is. thanks again.


 
  #6  
Old 03-13-13, 09:29 AM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,512
You can either leave it or delete it. I delete it
I delete it too. And I'm just a quotin' fool now! Seriously though, I think the quote function is helpful, and this way works just fine instead of the button. I just didn't realize this method was available. I'll not over-use it, just use it when/if it seems it makes sense to do so. Thanks Mitch17 and Gunguy45
 
  #7  
Old 03-13-13, 09:37 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,041
Once you figure it out I think this method works better and goes along way to keep entire posts from being quoted on a regular basis. I also delete the 'read more' part - wish we could delete it permanently
 
  #8  
Old 03-13-13, 09:38 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,533
You might want to read up on BB codes also. That is how quotes and other things are implemented. While not all are recognized by the forum software I've use some I don't even think are in the edit interface though they are listed in the Forum FAQs. Might be wrong on them not being in the interface. Never looked for some of them. I just use them.

I use my mouse (trackball actually-hate mice) to highlight the "read more" line, then just hit the delete button. (I'm guessing that will work the same on Windows.)
 
  #9  
Old 03-13-13, 09:45 AM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,512
Yeah marksr, I agree this method, instead of having a quote button, makes better sense in that respect. Glad it's available.
 
  #10  
Old 03-13-13, 09:45 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,041
highlight the "read more" line, then just hit the delete
Ya, that's how I do it..... just be nicer if we didn't have to, maybe I'm spoiled
 
  #11  
Old 03-13-13, 09:49 AM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,512
You might want to read up on BB codes also.
Dumb question time: What are BB codes and where do I read up on them?
 
  #12  
Old 03-13-13, 10:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,349
BB stands for Bulletin Board, the forerunner to the Internet forums. If you want to learn more at the bottom of every forum page is a list of Posting Permissions. Click on the BB code link.
 
  #13  
Old 03-13-13, 11:06 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,533
just be nicer if we didn't have to, maybe I'm spoiled
But it was added so people quoting from our forums at other sites would automatically give proper attribution.
 
  #14  
Old 03-13-13, 11:12 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,497
Yep, it's a marketing thing - just like the quote button is not coming back, this tag is not going away.
 
  #15  
Old 03-13-13, 01:48 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,512
Originally Posted by Furd View Post
BB stands for Bulletin Board,
Wow, it's good to know about these things. Thanks Furd, and Ray.
 
  #16  
Old 03-13-13, 03:47 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,041
But it was added so people quoting from our forums at other sites would automatically give proper attribution.
Learned something new today not that I'd know how to quote from one site to another, didn't know what BB was either
 
  #17  
Old 03-13-13, 03:56 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,533
If you have ever written basic HTML in a text editor a lot of the BB codes will be familiar. Often you just substitute brackets for lesser than and greater than symbols.
 
  #18  
Old 03-13-13, 04:24 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,512
Originally Posted by ray2047 View Post
it was added so people quoting from our forums at other sites would automatically give proper attribution
Originally Posted by marksr View Post
not that I'd know how to quote from one site to another,
marksr, if you copy and paste anything from the forum here to another site/forum, the proper attribution blurb will automatically appear with it
 
  #19  
Old 03-13-13, 04:28 PM
sgull's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: AK
Posts: 2,512
Another thing I just noticed: if I click on the double-arrow blue button within the quote bubble (two quote bubbles in my previous post here) I just get "No Thread specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator". So I don't know what's up with that.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'