Funny misspell correction

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-31-13, 02:34 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,575
Funny misspell correction

Was typing a post and badly misspelled the word "vehicle". I typed it as "vechilce".

The spelling corrector suggested "lovechild" as what I had meant to type.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-31-13, 02:36 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,019
Well, to some people, their vehicle is almost a lovechild.

EDIT Yeah Northern Mike...this means you....lol.
 

Last edited by Gunguy45; 07-31-13 at 02:59 PM.
  #3  
Old 07-31-13, 02:47 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 44,021
It's funny how one errant letter can throw spell check off ...... but at least it makes some us look more intelligent than we would otherwise
 
  #4  
Old 07-31-13, 05:42 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,917
Funny! Can't see how "lovechild" came out of that!
Guess spellcheck only comes in handy, if you actually know how to spell.
 
  #5  
Old 07-31-13, 08:36 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 24
Ya know, I was never much a texter but now that I have a smart phone I try to avoid it at all cost. It seems like any minor typo will change what I'm saying to outrageous things. It is especially bad when someone from work texts and you respond with something awkward that was totally off what you needed to say. Love the lovechild one though, will have to share.
 
  #6  
Old 08-01-13, 03:00 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
I have word "suggestions" turned off my cell phone. If I mis spell a word, I don't want some machine assuming what I wanted to say and change the word and/or context. What I type is what you get. PLUS, using voice texting is nice, but read it all before you hit the send button. Vlingo and Siri just don't understand Southern English at all.
 
  #7  
Old 08-01-13, 06:12 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,994
Is there a forum spell check I have never seen or was this browser spell check. If browser what browser.
 
  #8  
Old 08-01-13, 06:18 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,917
I use FF, Ray, and the spellchecker comes up. Not sure if it's the forum or the browser?
 
  #9  
Old 08-01-13, 06:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
I have seen some errors with spell check on Firefox and Internet Explorer 10 which just recently has added spell check. What is even more annoying is when you use Word or another word processor and it keeps on insisting that you spelled the word wrong when you know you didn't. You can even check it out with a paper dictionary and sure enough you are right. Oh you win in the end when you figure out how to correct the error in the program but it sure can make you mad!
 
  #10  
Old 08-01-13, 07:27 AM
Sharp Advice's Avatar
Admin Emeritus
Join Date: Feb 1998
Location: The Shake and Bake State USA
Posts: 10,440


Testing the forums menu bar spell checker. Icon on the end above (ABC) in Quick Reply window.
Doesn't work for me using old computer and internet explorer 8 in quick reply...

ABC spell check Might work in Advanced. (Go Advanced) below option. ????
Someone try that option????

I use ieSpell checker instead. That works for me on this computer contraption....

I'll have to try it on my newer laptop computer contraption...

Suspect that one will have the newer windows 10 browser. (???)

Anyone else care to provide additional input? Kindly do so and advise. Thanks.

 
  #11  
Old 08-01-13, 08:02 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,917
OK, replying in IE10. The "Spellcheck" Icon is in the reply box, both in Quick and Advanced reply.

In FF, there is no icon, but if you misspell a word, it gets underlined in yellow, so you notice it. Then if you right-click on the word, a list of suggestions come up.

Becky
 
  #12  
Old 08-01-13, 08:06 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,917
Testing spellcheck in Chrome. No icon here either, but the word gets underlined as in FF.
 
  #13  
Old 08-01-13, 08:12 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,994
Icon on the end above (ABC) in Quick Reply window.

Read more: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ge...#ixzz2ajKOGrcJ
This is my Quick Reply Window. No ABC and only a single line. Maybe a setting in Account.

Name:  insert6.jpg
Views: 117
Size:  5.4 KB

Here is Advanced Edit:

Name:  insert7.jpg
Views: 142
Size:  7.3 KB

Edit: Linux/Chrome
 
  #14  
Old 08-01-13, 08:17 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,019
Mine looks like what Ray posted...XP w/FF here.
 
  #15  
Old 08-01-13, 08:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,542
Originally Posted by Gunguy45
Well, to some people, their vehicle is almost a lovechild.

EDIT Yeah Northern Mike...this means you....lol.
Haha
Doc says I'm all better now. He feels that long winter nights away from my car (unheated garage) is helping.
 
  #16  
Old 08-01-13, 08:41 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,917
Did you guys see my reply? No icon in FF or Chrome. Misspelled words get underlined. Do you see this? I am using Win7 tho.
 
  #17  
Old 08-01-13, 09:44 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,994
Underlining is a function of both Chrome and Firefox. In Chrome you even get two thicknesses of underline. Thick is spelling and thin is usage
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes