How can you be be this stupid????

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-23-13, 06:24 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Angry How can you be be this stupid????

Today I went to finish the house I wired. Owner said the heat breaker was tripping and getting really hot when the 20KW heat strips came on. Asked him where the wire for them was, he pointed to a single 12-2! Every staple was melted, as well as the jacket at spots!

Now, the unit is fed with two 6-3 cables, each on a 60A breaker. The outside unit is now also fed with 6-3 on a 50A breaker, then I have a 30A breaker outside. (future proof)
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-23-13, 10:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,658
Trying to save on copper

Don't tell me..... #12 on a 60a breaker
 
  #3  
Old 09-24-13, 12:40 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
Generally it is not stupidity, but is ignorance. Stupid is not wanting to know while ignorance is simply not knowing. It is unfortunate, but the vast majority of people do not understand the simplest things about electricity... or a whole lot of other things as well.

Or maybe the homeowner IS stupid and just didn't care.
 
  #4  
Old 09-24-13, 02:19 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Boy, that is very unfortunate. But I would say it's more ignorance than stupidity. I myself don't know much about electricity, though I would hire someone who knows what he's doing, obviously
 
  #5  
Old 09-24-13, 03:38 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 44,056
Stupid but also lucky! could have burned the house down
I've been a diyer all my life and a good portion of my painting work has been new construction so I'd always run down whatever trade I needed to get info from. With a few exceptions, they always gave me good advice ..... kind of like the forums today
 
  #6  
Old 09-24-13, 04:17 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,579
Hmmm, maybe I should replace those 14ga extension cords I have my heat strips plugged into.....
 
  #7  
Old 09-24-13, 04:43 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 44,056
TG, you probably have more to worry about with the AC that's on the 16 gauge extension cord
 
  #8  
Old 09-24-13, 04:59 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,579
Oh. That was a bad idea, too?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes