Turbo Tax...

Old 01-16-14, 07:39 AM
Super Moderator
Turbo Tax...

I just did my taxes.. Anyone use turbo tax?

I have been using it for 12 years now and found the format this yr to be confusing to say the least...Difficult to navigate???

The revisit areas OK but then you can go through the same thing on a separate tab that the software make for you regarding the same item..ie: EIC credit ??

Also on the home improvement areas what I found messed up is they make you mail in your forms instead of online filing... So I chose to nix the $400 I spent on insulation when I gutted the kitchen... Same last yr when I changed the windows...

Not worth it to me to mail it in.. I guess unless you spend like 5k in home improvments it may be worth it...

And heck you need a 95% eff boiler or furnace to claim a lousy $150 bucks...

OK I will shut up now....

Just my opinion.. But to me its better then the places you go to. Have a stranger do your taxes???

Sponsored Links
Old 01-16-14, 08:46 AM
Group Moderator
Have you ever tried TaxAct. I used it for many years and found it easy to use. In all fairness I did seem to misunderstand or miss something occasionally but since I had done my own taxes for many years without a computer I knew I'd missed something and it was easy to go back and correct it. It's free to use so your not out anything if you don't like it and their charges, at lest then, were under $10 for Efiling.

Old 01-16-14, 09:04 AM
I've only ever used the Canadian version of Turbo Tax. I've been using it for a number of years as well. Over the past few years it does seem to have become a bit more of a pain to navigate through.

If you find a document and have to go back and change something, it's almost impossible to just jump to the page or line you want. You end up having to pretty much surf through your entire return to get to the right spot.

Old 01-16-14, 10:07 AM