About to start a DIY re-roof.

Old 08-28-14, 02:38 PM
About to start a DIY re-roof.

I am getting ready for a DIY re-roof starting tomorrow, and had been posting for advice fairly regularly on roofing.com, which seems to have disappeared all of a sudden. Which is sort of the way my luck usually runs. Heck, I'm surprised to see that the long term weather forecast doesn't call for a hurricane during the time the boys (young adult grandsons) and I have set aside for the task. But, anyway, since that site is gone, and since I had an account here from a while back, I thought I'd come post here instead (or maybe even as well as, if the other site ever comes back up).

Even though I've done a lot of studying on the Internet during the last month or so, this is the biggest job I've considered doing in a good long while, since the wife and I put down 1700 square feet of laminated flooring about 15 years ago, and something I have zero experience with, but the quotes from professional roofers were just too tough to swallow - $12,000 from a guy with no license or workman's comp (but who actually does really nice work) to $13,000-$16,000 from guys with proper roofing companies. With materials coming in around $6,500 for everything (and I mean everything - down to and including the nails), I figured it was worth the savings to have a go myself. I mean...how hard could it be?