Phillips screwdriver size

Old 09-02-14, 04:14 PM
Phillips screwdriver size

The top (green) screwdriver in this photo came from an iPhone repair kit and the package said it is a "Phillips#00" screwdriver. It has a tip about 1.5mm wide.

But the bottom screwdriver (Craftsman) in the photo is labeled P-00, and it has a tip about 2mm wide.

Could the top and bottom screwdrivers really both be 00 sized, even though their tips are not the same size? The top screwdriver is closer in size to the middle screwdriver, which is labeled P-0000.

Here is a link to a larger version of the photo: http://i.imgur.com/dxbVOfT.jpg

[ATTACH=CONFIG]37576[/ATTACH]

Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
Old 09-02-14, 05:06 PM
I'm not an expert on this, but here is my opinion from sorting out some of this confusion years ago. I believe the sizes may refer to how pointed the tips are. A small size screw needs the flutes to come all the way to the tip. Larger sizes will be blunt at the tip to provide more engagement with the upper section of those flutes. To add some confusion, I ran into "American" standards vs "Japan". Much of the equipment I worked on was built in Japan and the more pointed phillips screwdrivers would bottom out in the screw slots before being fully engaged.

Maybe my suppliers had just found another way to get me and others to buy more tools, but in any case, they did work better.

Bud

Old 09-02-14, 08:29 PM
Like Bud I am not an expert but there are several "standards" regarding cross-point screwdrivers, what people generically call "philips" screwdrivers. The only two I can recall right now are the original Phillips and another called the Reed and Prince. They look identical but they are NOT the same. I wouldn't be surprised to find that there are American and Metric versions as well.

Old 09-03-14, 04:21 AM
Good morning Furd and sldiy,