Mechanical mind bender.

Old 07-08-15, 08:36 AM
Mechanical mind bender.

Its been a while since I have been on the forum. Been pretty busy with school, side business, etc.
Had a mind bender come out of an r&d discussion and thought I would see what you guys came up with.

Prop propelled (air) vehicle, all things considered equal and space was not a huge concern, variable speed drive (adjustable transmission) and fixed pitch prop vs. fixed drive (motor to prop) with a variable pitch prop?

Its a theoretical system at the moment, target is speed and fuel efficiency (like everything motorized).

Sponsored Links
Old 07-08-15, 09:11 AM
Super Moderator
Well, I'm no engineer...but I would think something like a CVT to a fixed prop would be easier and more efficient. You can keep the engine in it's efficient RPM range with a CVT. Variable pitch props have advantages (reversing for instance) but the system is kind of complicated in my experience. The ones I've dealt with were hydraulic/mechanical.

CVT's are what many car manufacturers have gone to for efficiency, but I think they are still limited on their strength and require advanced electronics.

Is this a wheeled vehicle, boat, or a plane? Problem with a plane would be the additional weight of the trans vs the variable pitch system.

Old 07-08-15, 09:33 AM
Planes also have heavy restrictions on what can be used.
I am thinking the same with the CVT and being prop, it doesn't require any clutching so zero slippage.

Old 07-08-15, 12:58 PM
Nice to see you again Northern Mike it has been a long time. Your question is kind of out of my league my father was the mechanic in the family and my interests are mainly computers. Still though this interests me because it is something different do you have any diagrams or videos to show what you are talking about? I probably wouldn't understand everything so I can't really offer any ideas but it is interesting.

Old 07-08-15, 12:58 PM
Group Moderator