script Error

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-26-16, 11:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,365
script Error

Lately I've been getting script errors on this forum. It took me 3 tries to post this. I get a error that says a script stopped responding. Then I get the option to stop script or debug script. The forum freezes and I have to do ctrl alt del to close the browser. Im using firefox Windows 10(the free upgrade one from windows 7).
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-27-16, 01:44 AM
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Which version of Firefox are you using? Try to update it. If that doesn't help, copy & paste the exact error into google. Chances are that you aren't the first to have it.
Another idea is to try NoScript which is a Firefox AddOn.
 
  #3  
Old 01-27-16, 05:06 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6,034
I'll get that error occasionally. I'm using the latest FF browser. I don't need to shut down the browser. Usually I just stop script and all is right.
 
  #4  
Old 01-27-16, 06:58 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,717
I have that trouble a lot with FF as well. I use Chrome for this site without issue.
 
  #5  
Old 01-27-16, 07:27 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,994
I have that trouble a lot with FF as well. I use Chrome for this site without issue.
I have the problem with Amazon and also found switching to Chrome solved it.
 
  #6  
Old 01-27-16, 07:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Sometimes add-ons can be a problem if you continue to have problems you might want to disable add-ons. To do so click on the box with the three slashes then click on the question mark(?) and look for disable add-ons. I would also do a virus scan too and check to see if you have any on your computer as they can cause errors with your browser. Scan your computer first though before disabling any add-ons.
 
  #7  
Old 01-27-16, 08:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,583
Using FF I've been seeing script errors on and off here for a long while. I would just wait for it to stall the browser and click on stop script. Now I just watch the one that won't load and tell NoScript to block it.

With NoScript the pages load fast.
 
  #8  
Old 01-29-16, 10:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,365
Clicking stop script does not work. I have no choice but to force close the browser via the CTRL Alt del. It won't tell me what version I currently have.
 
  #9  
Old 01-30-16, 12:25 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
flirty1 to find your version click on that little square box on the top right with the lines. Now look for a ?(?) sign. Click on that and look for Trouble Shooting Information and you will find your version there.
 
  #10  
Old 01-30-16, 01:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,365
Firefox version 44.0 build ID. 20160123151951
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes