If you're old enough to know what MSDOS was...

Old 03-08-16, 10:10 AM
Group Moderator
If you're old enough to know what MSDOS was...

This is pretty interesting:

https://youtu.be/8ucCxtgN6sc

Sponsored Links
Old 03-08-16, 06:05 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Some teens don't even know what a phone book is. I heard that someone that age called it a "google book".

As far as DOS goes, I constantly use the command prompt in Windows. I also use the command line interface (CLI) in Unix & Linux much more than the Graphic User Inteface (GUI pronounced gooey.

Old 03-08-16, 06:59 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
This generation - All I got to say is that I am just beginning to teach my youngest to drive. Part of the training I plan on giving her is how to read a map. Not a google map, but a physical map. I am going to give her a random street, she needs to find it on a paper street map, and take me there. She will be miles ahead of anyone else. Its the right thing to do.

Those kids in the video have no patience nor desire to learn how or why things are as they are today. They only want instant gratification.

Old 03-08-16, 07:05 PM
Temporarily Suspended
Not a google map, but a physical map.
I have a feeling that it won't be long before she asks for a GPS.

Old 03-08-16, 07:17 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
She has GPS on her phone, but not for training, the phone does not travel with us. She needs to know how to navigate if she ends up some where without a cell phone signal or wifi.

Old 03-08-16, 07:22 PM
Temporarily Suspended
I agree that it's good training. It can't hurt to know how to read a map. Luckily, I haven't had to teach anyone how to drive in long time.

Old 03-08-16, 07:43 PM
Forum Topic Moderator