Scariest Fake Windows Mesage Ever

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-08-16, 05:14 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,527
Scariest Fake Windows Mesage Ever

Clicked on a URL today and suddenly got a screen saying that my Windows installation had been compromised. These are always good for a laugh but this was scarier then mos because there was an ominous female voice detailing the dire things that would happen to my Windows installation, my Facebook and a couple of other accounts if I didn't immediately call tech support at the provided number.

I have to say i can imagine a lot of Windows users panicking especially when they found you couldn't close the page either by the usual clicking the "X" or alt F4. That was the real deviousness of the page that you couldn't leave it due to some script that it ran and the ominous audio warning just kept repeating over and over.

Really a little ticked myself I'll admit I had to force Xserver to close the connection to the page in order to close it. Perhaps one of the Windows gurus could tell the Windows users how they can close the page if they ever land on one like it.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-08-16, 05:48 PM
czizzi's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 7,029
Having only experienced a couple of hijack me threats in the past, I immediately hit the power button to do a hard shut down. I then immediately power up into safe mode by hitting the F8 key during boot up. I then run my anti-virus and anti-malware programs to remove the threat. Then restart.

But, like you said, wonder how many fall for the pay me now option?
 
  #3  
Old 04-08-16, 07:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
That really is weird Ray since I know you use Linux and not Windows. I still use Windows although I bought some used parts not too long ago and I may make a PCLinuxOS desktop as I do like the OS and it usually is not vulnerable to attack. I once had an attack like that that Windows Defender caught and it was ransom ware. I immediately shut my computer down and ran the scan on full twice and then I ran it through Super Anti Spyware to make sure it was gone and deleted. Luckily no problems afterwards but I did get that same message.

I know Linux is supposed to be bullet proof much like the Apple OS but with both I wish they had a good anti-virus as I have had to remove and reinstall my browser on my IPad twice. Not really going to bad sites either but ones that shouldn't have a problem. Afterwards things were o.k. but it is annoying and I have had some problems with Linux in different types. So I guess we all have to be more careful but sometimes even when we are we still have problems.
 
  #4  
Old 04-09-16, 04:51 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 588
Like Czizzi, I just hit the power button & do a complete shutdown, then power back up. I haven't had any issues using that method so far.

I do wish Windows would bring back the old "ctrl-alt-delete" option. Since they did away with that, I havent found an alternate way to perform that option.
 
  #5  
Old 04-09-16, 05:08 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,545
My worst nightmare was years back when I use to pirate a few movies . I got the dreaded FBI scam. I really got scared at first and for a moment considered paying the "fine". But a little bit of common sense and investigation solved that scam.
 
  #6  
Old 04-09-16, 05:11 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,018
A year or so ago in a town near me an idiot that was into child porn got that FBI message on his computer and went ahead and turned himself in The cops said he wasn't even on their radar.
 
  #7  
Old 04-09-16, 05:13 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,545
Is that good ting or a bad thing? Make you kind of wonder.
 
  #8  
Old 04-09-16, 05:14 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,018
Me thinks he got what he deserved
 
  #9  
Old 04-09-16, 05:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Me thinks you are right too marksr, not sure if you have ever seen the show Leverage but among other people there is a computer hacker gone good along with other former crooks of various descriptions who try to help people get stolen property and other things back. Kind of an interesting show to see as they do things the cops can't do to help people. Sometimes they pay for it too as their leader went to jail for a while but was later released through the legal system with the help of his team. If you or others have never seen the show I hope you get a chance too.
 
  #10  
Old 04-09-16, 06:00 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
I do wish Windows would bring back the old "ctrl-alt-delete" option. Since they did away with that, I havent found an alternate way to perform that option.
Huh? I use control alt delete all the time to see what processes are running..

I have windows 10.. If they did away with it then I must be special...
 
  #11  
Old 04-09-16, 06:01 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,545
Nothing special. I have it too.
 
  #12  
Old 04-09-16, 06:03 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
I use it on W10, too................
 
  #13  
Old 04-09-16, 10:48 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,795
I got something similar on my IPad a couple of months ago after clicking on a link. Couldn't close it or get out of it. So for an IPad or IPhone device, what I found to do is, go into settings, then Safari, then click on the "Clear History and Website data", and that got rid of it. Maybe the same can be done in Windows.
 
  #14  
Old 04-09-16, 08:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Not sure Becky that you can do that with Windows at least I haven't had that experience as there is something equivalent to settings but it works differently. Most of the time in Windows you open your browser that has trouble and then clear the cache and history provided you don't have a virus or other problem. With my IPad I was using Chrome as I like it better than Safari which is o.k. but I found it to be not as manageable as Chrome. So I just removed Chrome and then re-installed it to get rid of the problem, I do go into settings though occasionally to change some settings.
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 AM.