571 reasons why IP cameras may not be a good thing.

Old 08-17-16, 11:50 AM
571 reasons why IP cameras may not be a good thing.

News article giving 571 reasons why IP security cameras may not be a good thing.

Texas mom finds live feed of daughters' bedroom on live-stream app | KOMO

Are you SURE your passwords are unbreakable?

Sponsored Links
Old 08-17-16, 03:58 PM
Group Moderator
Security experts told Jennifer that hackers found the family's IP address off her daughter's iPad, then found their computer system and eventually their modem and DVR system, which is linked to cameras throughout the house.

#1 - I can't understand cameras in people's bedrooms on an NVR. (network video recorder)
#2 - Very clearly in the setup instructions... You must change the factory supplied default password.

I've run into these types of problems already.
I will not install any cameras in peoples bedrooms for just this reason.
As an installer I have to be careful as I have access to many customers NVR's.

Old 08-17-16, 07:50 PM
Good points, Pete. I only posted it because of the dangers involved. I suspect that the password was NOT changed from default or if it was it was something very easy to hack.

Old 08-17-16, 07:51 PM
Group Moderator
Thank you for posting that. It is certainly a word to the wise.

Old 08-17-16, 07:56 PM
I see IP cameras as a double edged sword they can be good or they can be very bad. I think I first saw this on Facebook and I warned my niece not to use these cameras. Thankfully she doesn't use an IP camera and not the brand that was mentioned at the time.