Ridgid recipricating saw

Old 03-29-17, 03:37 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Ridgid recipricating saw

First, this is not intended to slam a product. I am just interested in knowing if anyone else has had an experience with their one handed reciprocating saw. I've had mine a year and it worked great for what I wanted....medium demolition. The one thing that happened right off, within months, was the front cowling kept coming off. It is held on with plastic clips, similar to an Otter box. That's nothing Tyvek tape can't fix. I obtained the lifetime warranty, but the cowling wasn't a big deal. Then yesterday taking a one piece shower down in pieces the main shaft went limp. No gear action. So I took it back to HD under warranty. It takes 6 or more weeks for Ridgid to look at it. What do you do in the meantime? Lady at the counter asked what I had done to it? I told her I worked for a living, and my tools had better keep up.

Sponsored Links
Old 03-29-17, 03:52 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Go to harbor freight and pick up a $29 one. I have had mine for 4 years now without any issues.

Old 03-29-17, 04:21 PM
Buy a Porta Cable. My Ridgid has been sent back twice and my Porta Cable is at least 10 years old and never had to be repaired.

Old 03-29-17, 06:12 PM
Batteries for my Rigid drills were the same story, long wait. Then after 2 replacement they said they could no longer get the batteries, but they could give me the lithium ion equivalent. But I would have to purchase the charger which was different. I declined and insisted they find some batteries. Eventually they ordered them from a guy who does their tool repairs and he sent them right out. But, that was probably the last time I will be able to get any. 4 drills all pretty well shot but really can't complain considering the use they got. I'll probably just wait until I'm in the mood and go see what kind of deal they will offer. Using Makita now and like them.