GFCI wouldn't trip

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-24-17, 05:51 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
GFCI wouldn't trip

Getting some RV sites checked out for a client, making sure their 30 amp receptacles and GFCI receptacles were operating properly. For the life of me, I tried every method I could to make one trip normally. I finally just gave up and decided to replace it. Not sure who the numbnut was that did it, but............

Name:  20170522_165656.jpg
Views: 50
Size:  38.6 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-24-17, 07:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,085
Not sure what you are showing us.
The cut off white wire that is supposed to go the neutral bar ?
 
  #3  
Old 05-25-17, 04:22 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Yeah, forgot to put that in. IT was just put in the box without the benefit if the white coiled wire to the neutral buss. Pigtailed to the buss via a white wire from the GFCI lug.
 
  #4  
Old 05-25-17, 06:31 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Well I guess that eliminates those pesky nuisance trips
 
  #5  
Old 05-25-17, 07:02 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
I really think they connected it incorrectly in the first place with both white wires going to the buss, thus it wouldn't work, so they just cut one and it worked as a breaker, albeit not really good.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'