U.S. Navy collision

Old 06-17-17, 07:08 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
U.S. Navy collision

In case you miss the news, the USS Fitzgerald collided with a Philippine container ship off the coast of Japan.
Very bad damage and sailors missing.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-17-17, 07:24 AM
Group Moderator
How is that even possible? They are both huge and not exactly moving very fast., I would think they saw each other on radar? Let's hope they find them.

Tolyn

Of course I have zero experience with Navy anything.

Old 06-17-17, 07:30 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
I already heard about it. It appears that the container ship broadsided the Navy ship. According to the news, real or fake, there is a lot of traffic in that area & it's hard to navigate especially at 2:30 am.

Old 06-17-17, 02:52 PM
Super Moderator
I seriously can't understand this. Neither can the -ex. (44 yrs total in the USN). Multiple radars with multiple eyes on them. Multiple lookouts, OOD, JOOD and in very congested waters normally the XO or CO will be on the bridge as well. I was in some areas where they doubled the lookouts (Strait of Malacca, approaching the Panama Canal in Lake Gatun, approaching the Suez near Port Said, etc). A DDG is not a small ship but they are highly maneuverable and quick to accelerate and stop (30 kn to 0 in it's own length).

The CO will be relieved (possibly criminally charged), XO, OOD, JOOD, and Navigator possibly as well. Minimum their careers are over. Doesn't matter if they were correct per the "rules of the road" or not, they hazarded their vessel.

This is just not good in any way. And some paid the highest price.

Old 06-17-17, 03:27 PM
Group Moderator