Quoting

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-09-17, 04:04 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5,567
Quoting

I seem to be knit picking here but I wonder if some of these issues are being addressed.

When quoting you click on the ("). But the cursor ends up at the end of the insert rather than between the quotes. Not a problem for me or those who know. But I can imagine how frustrating it is to a new comer looking to participate on this forum.

cursor land here.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-09-17, 04:14 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,049
Hasn't it always been that way? You can also copy/paste your quote, highlight it and then click on the quote button.
 
  #3  
Old 09-09-17, 05:52 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 11,905
When using quick reply editor mode, the cursor is at the end. When using it in normal mode the cursor is in the middle. I agree, it is annoying.
 
  #4  
Old 09-09-17, 05:59 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,797
I do like Mark and copy and paste first, highlight then hit quote. However, I just tested it on my end, and the cursor goes to the middle whether in quick reply or advanced mode. Not sure why for some, it's not doing that.?
 
  #5  
Old 09-09-17, 06:08 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,049
I don't normally highlight the quote and then hit the quote button - just learned that recently. I have noticed that sometimes the cursor bounces around and doesn't always go to the middle so that is something I try to double check.
 
  #6  
Old 09-09-17, 06:23 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,797
Just tried something and noticed if you hit the quote, the cursor does go to the middle, but if you click the mouse again, it jumps to the end. Perhaps when double clicking it does this. Probably need to be careful and not double click. Just try it and see what I mean.
 
  #7  
Old 09-09-17, 09:39 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,049
So maybe my finger is stuttering
 
  #8  
Old 09-09-17, 11:16 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,132
I'm not sure why it would be different for different members.
My cursor is always after the quote marks now regardless of what I do.

Just another little glitch that takes getting used to.
 
  #9  
Old 09-09-17, 11:34 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,797
Strange, my cursor always goes to the middle. I must be special!

Just checked on my IPhone and it goes to middle there, too.
 
  #10  
Old 09-09-17, 11:47 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,132
I just found that if I copy something, paste it in my reply, highlight that text and then click on quotes... the quote tags are around the text.
 
  #11  
Old 09-09-17, 01:03 PM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,797
Beat you to that, lol! Post #4

Duh, Yes, Mark mentioned it first!
 
  #12  
Old 09-09-17, 01:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,132
Wow... it was only mentioned a few times.
 
  #13  
Old 09-10-17, 09:57 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,452
11-05-15, 12:40 pm #4 (permalink)
baldwin
i do it a little different but end up at the same place. I copy/paste the text into my message, highlight it then click the tv thingie. It puts the quotes at each end by itself.


Cool, i've been typing the brackets & quote manually. Duh
......................................................................
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'