Is it legal........?

Old 02-03-09, 06:58 PM
Is it legal........?

To buy jeans at thrift stores (different brand names) and then distress them,airbrush them with your own design and then sell them?

If so, do I need to advertise them in a special way without using the jean brand name?

(I'm new at this, so I just wanna make sure it's ok...or not ok)

THANK YOU!

Sponsored Links
Old 02-03-09, 07:09 PM
nap
generally, yes but you have to be cautious about name brands or the brand logo when advertising.

just as a notice; I am not an attorney and this is not to be construed as legal advice but merely my mildly educated opinion.

gotta cover my butt.

Old 02-03-09, 07:14 PM
So, if I don't mention the brand name of the jeans, but just advertise them as distressed airbrushed jeans...then that may be safe?

Old 02-03-09, 08:18 PM
nap
I would suspect so. There is something in this type of situation called the doctrine of first sale. Once something is actually bought from the supplier, they no longer control that product. They still control their trademarks though. The names and trademarks can be used in certain situations but if it is not necessary to use them, I would suggest not so as to prevent any problems that may or may not be legit.

advertising as you propose would be fine from what I understand. If somebody asks what brand they are, you can answer it honestly as well. What you need to be cautious about is causing somebody to believe you are an official outlet or seller of a particular brand.

Old 02-03-09, 09:16 PM
Yeah, because thrift stores sell all kinds of brands of clothing to people. So, the thrift stores are making $ off of the sales and some of thee top brand names are in the racks for people to buy.

So, I don't know where the line is drawn there. I've gone to thrift stores and bought Kennington suits...brand new and the store had marked it down, but still made a profit out of it.

It's confusing

Old 02-04-09, 04:25 AM
Group Moderator