Apartment Lease Notice

Old 11-30-10, 09:25 AM
Apartment Lease Notice

Hello,

My son had a six month lease with an apartment complex that ends 12-31-10. He went into the office on 11-30-10 to let them know he would not be renewing his lease and would be moving out when the lease expires.

They said that he needed to give 60 days notice and would be on the hook for the 2 months rent (Jan & Feb of 2011).

I haven't rented in decades but this does not sound right to me. Can someone please help me understand the legal aspect of this?

He is living in Texas.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

Tripper

Sponsored Links
Old 11-30-10, 11:03 AM
Super Moderator
I'm not a lawyer, but this sounds ridiculous to me. I never heard of anything like that before. Sounds like this guy is trying to get some extra $$$$.
I lease my car, and when it's up, it's up. I don't have to give 60 days notice. He should call his local City Hall and I'm sure they can steer him in the right direction.
Does he have a signed lease/contract? He should have one. What does it say on there?

Old 11-30-10, 11:08 AM
Super Moderator
Good info here...look at the lease section...quite clear on the rules. Texas Tenants Advisor

And this link within the prior link. Landlord/Tenant Supplement Pt.1 Look at primary term.

Even if written in the lease..it may be illegal.

I'm wondering if this may just be mis-communication somehow.

Old 11-30-10, 07:16 PM
what dosent make sense to me is if he gave notice on 11-30 to move out on 12-31, why would be be obligated to pay through feburary. 2 months notice would be from 11-30 to 1-31. SO even if his lease does have a 60 day notice clause in it then he is only obligated to pay an extra month, January.

Old 11-30-10, 07:41 PM
Thank you to everyone who has taken the time to respond.

I am having him fax me a copy of his lease. I also forwrded him the links and told him to contact his City Hall and try to speak to someone concerning his problem.