Bill of Sale / Promissory Note

Old 05-21-14, 12:56 PM
Bill of Sale / Promissory Note

I may be taking a trip to NC this weekend to look at a vehicle. It's a 10-hour drive round-trip and the bank needs to send a check to the lien-holder in the exact amount (not yet determined). Problem is, I'm not sure I will be buying the car until I go look at it, and if I like it, I want to drive home in it, not have to take another trip down there after the lien-holder receives the check. I figured a small deposit ($500?) and a promissory note would appease the seller so that I could drive the car home with me. Is this a legitimate way of purchasing an out-of-state vehicle? If I have to take another trip down there, I don't think I'll go in the first place. It's a really nice car at a good price and they are extremely hard to come so I don't want it to slip away.

Sponsored Links
Old 05-21-14, 01:28 PM
I am not a lawyer so this is just my personal opinion but I think you should stay with the lien holder. The lien holder too needs to be an honest company and preferably a bank you know and trust. The owner should be willing to at least let you test drive the car and have it checked by a mechanic you choose before the sale goes through. Once you are satisfied then you can then let the lien holder know that you are and then they can release your money to the seller. It really is the better way and avoids complications down the road.

Old 05-21-14, 01:52 PM
Super Moderator
I think Hedge is not reading it correctly?

The way I read it, YOUR bank needs to transfer the exact amount to the lien holder in NC, yes? But they can't do that til you agree on a price and it may take a few days to complete. So you want to give a deposit and a promissory note and take the car?