Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Law and Legal Advice > General Law and Legal Advice
Reload this Page >

Washington Gas won't set up a new account without me giving them my social

Washington Gas won't set up a new account without me giving them my social

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-21-16, 09:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 780
Washington Gas won't set up a new account without me giving them my social

Is there any way around this or is it a case of that's how we do business take it or leave it?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-21-16, 09:35 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,079
Utilities will run a credit check.
Based on that they could require a pre-payment of 1-2 months of pro rated service.
 
  #3  
Old 11-21-16, 09:39 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,031
I doubt there is any way around giving it to them. Is there a reason you don't trust their security?
 
  #4  
Old 11-21-16, 11:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 780
I work in IT, there's no such thing as a secure system. If they were to just use it to run a check it'd be one thing, but I asked and they're storing it ... : (
 
  #5  
Old 11-21-16, 11:27 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,497
Which means you won't be alone when there's a breach

Unfortunately, this is pretty standard.
 
  #6  
Old 11-21-16, 11:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 780
ok, I'll request they remove it after my background check comes up squeeky clean, if they can great if not I'll just join the rest of the washington gas customers
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'