Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Recreational Outdoor Activities > GPS Systems For Land Based Navigation
Reload this Page >

Tom Tom One won't power up or stay on--loose connection?

Tom Tom One won't power up or stay on--loose connection?


  #1  
Old 11-25-10, 07:27 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tom Tom One won't power up or stay on--loose connection?

I use my Tom Tom in the vehicle plugged into the cigarette lighter USB. I have to wiggle the connection and get it in the right place in order for the power light to come on bright. Since it doesn't seem to be charging properly, I have to leave it plugged in for a long time hoping the connection is good, and only then does it power up. Then, I have to be very careful about the connection or else it stops charging and powers down again. Then I have to reset it and start all over.

I have tried a different USB plug and the problem persists.

Does anyone know if this is a problem with the internal battery or maybe the female connector? I was thinking about taking it apart since it's no good to me anyway. Any advice?
 
  #2  
Old 11-25-10, 09:15 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
I have never seen a cigarette lighter USB, but I've not been everywhere, yet. A cigarette lighter plug receptacle is probably the most rust prone place on the vehicle. Find an ink pen with an eraser and spin the eraser in the receptacle cleaning the end terminal. Do the sides, likewise with an in and out motion. Cleaning the contact points is very important.
 
  #3  
Old 11-27-10, 07:28 PM
jatco's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,064
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Ive had a TT 1, now a TT GO .. there is no USB connection for power in your car. The USB is used to download or update from your PC at home.
Power at the car is used thru a 12V auxillary outlet or your cigarette lighter outlet, which, as mentioned by Chandler, could be prone to rust, moisture etc.
Does your cigarette lighter work..with the cigarette plug ..
»Check its fuse.., its connection at the back.. Sometimes that connection gets dislodged...!
 
  #4  
Old 11-28-10, 02:55 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry, wrong term

I have the cigarette adapter that comes with the Tom Tom, and that's what I was referring to. I realized that the USB connector goes to the computer. I have used the USB to TT connector, an AC to TT, as well as the cig lighter to TT connector. All three produce the same result: I have to wiggle the connector at the TomTom in order for the power light to come on, and it flickers between dim and bright. I don't use the cigarette lighter, but I will try that to see if it works. The problem happens in at least two different vehicles.
 
  #5  
Old 11-29-10, 08:31 PM
jatco's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,064
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
..Ok.. perhaps a bad power cord?!?!? Ya never know!
 
  #6  
Old 12-04-10, 09:02 AM
W
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,185
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
If you are using the same power cord with different adaptors, replace the power cord. If that doesn't work it is probably the jack on the GPS unit that is faulty. That would be less probable than a problem with the power cord.

Replacing the jack is probably a factory authorized repair center job that might cost more than the GPS is worth.
 
  #7  
Old 12-05-10, 05:29 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, I've used three different cords with the same results. Sometimes the green LED comes on strong, sometimes weak, other times not at all. My feeling is that it's probably the unit itself. I tried to remove the torx screws but couldn't get the unit apart. I'd probably do well to just buy a refurbished one instead of having it repaired. Oh well...that's electronics for you.
 
  #8  
Old 12-05-10, 05:47 PM
jatco's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,064
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Just a thought... Have you tried the 'reset' button on the bottomn of the unit.. (using a paper clip tip..) to reset the unit to oem ??
Ive had to do that once in a while...
 
  #9  
Old 12-06-10, 05:29 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yeah, I've tried resetting it a lot, usually after it loses its power and shuts off. Last night I plugged it in and the green light came on good. I let it charge for half an hour and it came right on. But it showed the low battery icon once I started messing with the connection. I just shut it off so I wouldn't be disappointed

At least I'm getting reacquainted with how to use a mapbook again. I'm a service tech for Vector Security and I'll tell ya, that GPS saved me a serious amount of time.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: