How to level pier block foundation?

Old 11-15-05, 01:26 PM
How to level pier block foundation?

I'm building a 12x10 gambrel roof shed and for the foundation I'm using 9 10" pier blocks set directly on the ground. I'm just starting to set out the pier blocks and realizing that I'm not sure how best to level each one. Should I be tamping down and adjusting the soil under each one (the first one is at the highest corner), or is it easier to lay down an inch of gravel under the block(s) and add/subtract gravel to adjust the level. Or should I not worry too much about the individual block(s) and use wood shims on top of the block to get the beams (4x6) level. If wood shims, what size and kind of wood is best. This is my first project and I haven't found this information in the books I've been reading.

John

Sponsored Links
Old 11-15-05, 08:33 PM
Group Moderator
Not sure how much drop you are dealing with, but it would probably be best if you tried to use a flat shovel to skim off JUST ENOUGH dirt so that your piers sit level. Try not to disturb the ground, because you want the ground to stay packed. If you accidentally dig a little too deep, or need to adjust the pier a little, you can add some fine sand (or gravel) and tamp it with the pier before setting it in place. But don't expect a mountain of gravel to stay in place underneath a pier. The bottom of the pier needs to be at grade or below.